1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony VX1000 vs Sony TRV 950E vs Canon XM1?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by classybird, Feb 1, 2005.

1. classybird

classybird

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there

This is my first time - please be gentle with me!

I'm looking for a second hand semi professional mini DV camera. I have several options - Sony VX1000, TRV 950E OR Canon XM1.

I'm leaning towards the TRV 950E. I've used one before, I really liked it's features and found it easy to use.

I thought that before making my decision I should consult people who obviously know what they're talking about. Any thoughts, advice or words of warning?

Many thanks all.

2. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hiya,

The VX1000 is technically the best camcorder (it uses 1/3rd inch ccds) however it could be up to 10 years old, 5 at the very least.

It was quite a quirky beast to operate, it favoured semi auto modes (like aperture priority or shutter priority) with no completely manual mode.

The picture and audio gain are kind of clunky to use and it features a EVF only, not an LCD screen.

Depending on the age of the camcorder it is unlikley to have been modified for DV in.

These were the first DV camcorders, they were, and are great machines, however they are geting old now.

The Canon XM1 has the best lens on offer and the fullest range of manual controls (with the excepion of a manual audio level control) the resolution is marginally lower than the VX1k and the ccds are smaller. This camera could be anywhere from 6 years old to at the least 2 & 1/2 years old.