Question Sony VW500 Questions

Ellisdj

Prominent Member
Reaction score
I have been getting my room sorted in terms of blacking it down best I can, now I want to look to get my VW500 looking the best it will in here.

I have been using Reference setting, D65 and 709 colour. I have set brightness and contrast using patterns and have the aperture open to 51.

Next I want to align the panel / pixels -This is my first projector -how do I do this?

I assume I display a certain pattern and adjust so that text is crisp with no colour added??
Thanks

Second question - I have set my overall iris brightness by eye and want to measure this and maintain this over the bulb life span.

There are quite a few light meters on amazon for between £20 - £40 I assume these will all be ok?

I've not used one of those light meters but usually for the purpose of measuring lumens and contrast it's better to get a photopic light meter like a Tecpel 531 as it sees light in a similar fashion to the human eye. It's more expensive (around £60) but should be more suitable.

Having said that, I've not compared the two to see if it's just as good at measuring the lumens for the purpose you want. If that's all it's being used for, it seems overkill to buy a photopic meter over one that will read the same for white level readings.

Ideally someone with both could give us a definitive answer, but i don't know anyone who has done that.

Gary

I can stomach £61 if it will do the job forr a lifetime, better to pay £61 now than £40 then and then £61 after when £40 is no good for I might need in the future. That is the one Allan at ideal recommended to me before - thanks Gary.
Anytips on usage - i.e. certain setting needs to be on? I assume I measure a full field 100% white pattern to get the brightness as the level needed - or do I just need a 10% window like a calibration?