Sony VTXD800 EPG menu problem with Sony KV-32FQ70

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by MartinM, Jan 14, 2004.

  1. MartinM

    MartinM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sony KV-32FQ70 probelm with EPG menu of Sony VTXD800 freeview box
    Recently bought KV-32FQ70 - Everything seemed great until I connected the VTXD800 freeview box.

    When EPG menu is selcted, the text looks blurred. On closer inspection, the following is visible:

    - Yellow colour of the text on LHS of screen (that details the tv station; BBC1 etc.) "spills" out of
    the character boundaries. Therefore you are left with white at the lower part of each character
    and the yellow colour filling the remainer top half of each character and "spilling" out to the grey
    background.

    - The red, blue, yelow and green horizontal bars at the lower half of the EPG screen have similar
    problem in that white is evident at the lower part of each colour bar and the colour "spilling"
    out to the background.

    The Freeview box is connected to AV1 (RGB).

    I tried the freeview box on my 14 year old Sony 27" set and the EPG is perfect - clearly focussed
    and text colours keeping to their character boundaries.

    Any suggestions??
     
  2. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    no suggestions but it works fine on my 32fx68 so it shouldn.t be the100 hz affecting it
     
  3. whitcat

    whitcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SW London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately, the upward colour bleed is a 'characteristic' of the FQ70 and more noticeable than on the FX68. Reds are usually most noticeable e.g. the BBC One logo.

    Mine isn't that bad so I can live with it but if yours is really bad it may be worth getting an engineer out (probably not much use) or a replacement set.

    I found the best way to reduce it was make sure the colour, contrast and sharpness are not set too high (use a non-RGB source to adjust the latter).

    I've had a poke about in the service meny myself but didn't intuitively find anything useful to get rid of the bleed.


    James
     
  4. MartinM

    MartinM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried switching the freeview box tv output to PAL. This
    appears to improved matters with much more of the yellow
    colour staying within the text character boundaries.

    I sure this must be telling me something but what? - I don't
    fully understand what is happening when I switch from RGB to
    PAL.
     
  5. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try reducing your contrast setting a little.
     
  6. MartinM

    MartinM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The plot thickens!

    When I power on my DVD player the problem dissapears!
    The DVD player is connected via Scart to AV2(RGB).

    If I the power off the DVD player the EPG menu remains
    good.

    If I switch the TV off and then power it back on again
    the problem returns until I switch on the DVD player.

    ???
     
  7. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    is there a vcr in the loop if so what is the connections?
     
  8. MartinM

    MartinM
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    VCR connected with scart via AV3 (non RGB)
     
  9. jaymac

    jaymac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,725
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Ratings:
    +138
    have you also got the freeview box connected to the vcr if so you dont. need the other scart lead. It might just make a difference. I found that if watching a tape and i switched the stb off .Next day on switching the stb on I got a blank screen had to switch off/on to get the picture. I think the stb was still internally switched to the vcr
     

Share This Page

Loading...