• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Sony vs Toshiba vs Panasonic 40-42"

Turu

Standard Member
I have been around looking for my next TV and cannot make up my mind.

As you will notice, I am no expert in this field and from what I can see there are many out there in this forum.

Main uses for the TV I am looking for include streaming videos in various formats of my Network Attached Storage (DLNA compliant) and watching TV (freeview).

Ideal size is 40/42"

My shortlisted sets are:

Sony KDL-40CX520 (€699)
BRAVIA engine

Toshiba 40TL838 (€799)
Active 3D, 200Hz

Panasonic TX-L42E30 (€829)
LED TV

Panasonic TX-P42G30 (€859)
Plasma TV

Toshiba 42VL863 (€999)
Passive 3D, includes 4 pairs of glasses, 400Hz

All of these sets support a wired network connection (enough for me) and offer a two year warranty, except for the Sony model that offers 3 years.

I understand TV prices are a bit on the high side in Malta. Although online suppliers advertise better prices, when one adds postage the difference is not so big.

Any advice you might want to pass on would be greatly appreciated. All these sets are within my budget, but I do not mind saving money :)

Best regards to all of you.

tut_gareth

I have spent some time looking for my next TV and I have looked at many. This year the Sony are the best LCD panels that I have seen, but for plasma its Panasonic all the way.

stevep94

First of all, figure out if you can live with a reflective screen and if not, discount the plasma!

Next, is 3D important? If it is you can discount the non-3D sets!

After that its all about reading the online reviews!

Best of luck!

Turu

Standard Member
stevep94 said:
First of all, figure out if you can live with a reflective screen and if not, discount the plasma!