1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SONY VPL-HS1 and progressive scan

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Iassh, Dec 30, 2002.

  1. Iassh

    Iassh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia (Spain)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi !, I own a Sony HS1 and I'd like to know if it can deal with PAL progressive scan. Anybody knows it?

    Thanks !!!
     
  2. Kain

    Kain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, it does support 480p.
     
  3. Iassh

    Iassh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia (Spain)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your answer, but I thought PAL progressive was 576p, no 480p. 480p is for NTSC progressive scan, I think. Am I wrong?

    Happy New Year !!
     
  4. Kain

    Kain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Dubai
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh, sorry. I thought you were just asking if it supports progressive scan.

    I am not sure about PAL progressive scan.

    Happy New Year to you to!
     
  5. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    OK just dug out my manual page 43.

    It appears the only progressive signals it accepts are 480/60p and 525/60p.

    Hope this helps
     
  6. Iassh

    Iassh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia (Spain)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you,

    I also read that, but I'm not sure about PAL progressive scan.
    As I can see, you own an Iscan Pro, and this device can output PAL ps. Do you have also a HS1? If so, I think you should be able to find out if the HS1 can deal with PAL ps. In other case, the only way to be completely sure is to take the proyector with me to the Primare dealer and find out (I want to buy a Primare v25, that can output PAL & NTSC progressive scan).

    Bye !
     
  7. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    Yes I have a HS1 and the Iscan has mad an incredible difference so that probably answers your question
     
  8. Iassh

    Iassh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Valencia (Spain)
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much for your help and happy New Year !!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...