sony video switching

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by rob virgo, Mar 14, 2005.

Tags:
  1. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    people ,

    i recently had a problem where i had to get my sony processor repaired.after the repair i reconnected it and now cant get the video switching to work.i can switch audio but not video.

    if i connect to the projector direct its fine but when i go through the amp it wont give any picture but will give sound.


    its a sony srdb 850 (or close to that) :)
     
  2. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i feed the processor with a dvd picture and ps2.i have got the repair shop to check it and they said its fine.can anyone please tell me the proper way to connect for video switcing.


    please

    rob
     
  3. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,537
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +183
    How are you connecting your sources ? (s-video, component, composite)

    How are you connecting to your projector ? (s-video, component, composite)

    Does the amp have a On Screen Display and does that work ?
     
  4. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    fanfax

    dvd to processor via scart to phono
    ps2 to processor via phonos

    processor to sony vph 1272 via s video

    no on screen display on amp.

    no picture with dvd or ps2 when i select on processor.
    it has worked fine and i am wondering if i am conecting it wrong.
    if i connect to the projector direct from dvd its fine but when i go through the amp it wont give any picture but will give sound.
     
  5. FaxFan2002

    FaxFan2002
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,537
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somerset
    Ratings:
    +183
    Not to sure on sony but certainly on yammy's and my denon if you feed a composite signal into the amp (I assume that's what you mean by phono - yello rca connection?) your would have to feed a composite (phono) signal to the projector.

    Try feeding s-video from either your dvd or ps2 and see what happens.

    Puzzling that it's worked before, I'm not aware of the sony being able to cross convert video signals to different types i.e. composite to s-video.
     
  6. rob virgo

    rob virgo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    218
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    got an s-video to input to amp and sure enough it gave a signal out the s-video to proj.

    cheers for the help but i am as puzzled as you.

    rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...