sony tv`s

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by -Jay-, Oct 17, 2002.

  1. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    sony kv32ls60s i need to know abit about this tv doe`s it suffer from s/bars focus problems ect like on some sony tv.i watch sky digi alot plus dvd/xbox & need to know if this tv is any good. do all sony tv suffer from s/bars & focus problems.calling everyone plus (astonbilla) who has had a few sony tv :p
     
  2. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    come on guy`s i need help on this one. as i`m going to look at some tv`s on friday.& would like some advice on this tv.
     
  3. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Liverpool, only DRC equipped Sonys suffer from SBs. In fact the new range of DRC sets do not have this problem. This is 100% mate as i have an FQ80 (which is going back).

    how much are you spending on it?

    regarding focus, i didn't know my FQ75 had focus problems until i found this forum. I think thats a bad thing as i was quite happy, in fact the SBs where not that bad. I sometimes think people make a lot more out of them than they really are. 2 Bars of light scrolling very slowly through the image. To be fair thohad it worse than others.

    The focus on my FQ80 is bad at the sides and now that i have looked, the geometry is terrible THOUGH it was shipped via muppet link to Northern Ireland and the one before that arrived upside down, so i can only guess what happened to this one.
     
  4. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    hi astonbilla i was hopeing you would reply as you know about sony. from empire it costs £915.48 so have you seen the ls60 if so what do you think of it.
     
  5. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    i haven't seen it mate, only the high end DRC stuff. Its cheaper at unbeatable by the way.

    What about the JVC??, no joy - or how about a philips 9617. I know that a few people have said bad things about them, that they are grainy or soft etc. However, it has had so many rave reviews and the one i saw in Currys running LOTR on a dodgy DVD player was superb. It was so clear the actors looked like they were in a studio.

    If you could live with the SBs, you could get a cheap DX100, FQ75, FS70 or better yet (if the price drops) the amazing NX100.

    Dont forget Loewe, they are true class matey
     
  6. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    astonbilla no i couldn`t live with s/b & the famly did not like the look of the loewe so that is a no no. i saw this sony in dixsons last night. it looks a nice set & i have looked on this forum & have not seen a bad word said about it.so when i go to look at it i will look at the philips but i need to get the right tv this time after all the messing about i`ve had & like you said afew people have had problems with the philips.how come you have gone to philips.
     
  7. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Liverpool,

    Do a search for "Sony KV28LS60" and you will find my review.

    I have this TV and am very satisfied, as are many others on the forum.

    No scrolling bars either.
     
  8. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    hi squirrel god i have done that i just want to know if this tv had any problems. as they are a bit old & it gives people who have just got this tv to tell me if they have had any problems.that weren`t posted on the other threads. but thanks anyway.
     
  9. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only "hidden feature" appears to be with Pioneer DVD players. People are reporting that bright colours appear to flash (much like watching a 50Hz TV I guess) with these brands of player when connected to an LS60. Hope that's helpful :)
     
  10. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    s/god do you have sky digi if so what is it like on this tv.
     
  11. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have Sky Digital, but have digital terrestrial connected via RGB. Looks gorgeous. No problems with the footie etc.
     
  12. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    that is good as most of my viewing is on sky & i do watch loads of football.
     
  13. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Liverpool, i went for the Philips because (in magazine terms at least) it has the best picture available.

    Also, picture quality always seems better on lower range tvs to me. I think its because less digital processing is used. More detail usually leads to more grain etc and noise reduction only seems to make images soft.

    May the ls is a good choice then mate, but just because it doesn't get slated on these forums deosn't mean its good or bad. It may just be a sign of it not being as popular as other sets. I hope you finally get sorted though mate, you have my sympathy
     
  14. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree totally. Just to clarify for Liverpool, the LS60 is a plain 100Hz model, no extraneous digital processing. Noise reduction does indeed make the images soft on the LS60, but only on non-RGB feeds (I turn it off all the time as I don't like it).
    This is true, however many members have actually said on several threads that they are delighted with their LS60 :)

    At the end of the day, Liverpool, you have to decide for yourself by getting a demo of all the TVs on your shortlist and not just by going by the advice on the forum. It's you that's going to be watching it after all and we all have different preferences ;)

    Good luck :)
     
  15. glynndenniss

    glynndenniss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive had the ls60 for a couple of weeks and im more than happy with it.....even the mrs likes it.....
    I havn't encountered any problems with it and the picture is stunning...




    :D
     
  16. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    cheers guys
    all my stuff is connected with rgb so the soft picture should not be a problem.i`m not after a real fancy tv just one with a good picture like on my tosh.but without the faults on the picture so i`ll look at this tv tonight & let you know on monday when i get back to work.
     
  17. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    one more point can you leave this tv on wide if i set all my stuff to wide.cheers
     
  18. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean??? :confused:
     
  19. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    hi
    on my tosh i switched auto switching off & put my digi box/dvd/xbox to widescreen as i don`t like watching 4.3 with the black bars on the l&r of the screen.so by doing this it forced the tv to stay in widescreen mode.so can i do the same with this tv.
     
  20. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it lets you choose what mode you want to watch 4:3 material in, so you can set the 4:3 to be watched in wide mode and then it won't switch. You just need to turn off the Auto Format option before you do this, then the first time something comes on in 4:3 mode, switch to wide mode and it will remember this. It will remember your option for each scart socket too, so oif you want this for all scarts then you will need to set it for each scart in turn.

    Why you would want to do this though is beyond me mate! 4:3 material in wide mode mode will be totally distorted! Smart mode is better for 4:3 material if you don't like the black bars down the left and right hand sides.
     
  21. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    so it is called smart mode on this tv.it was superlive or wide on the tosh superlive kept the middle of the picture as it should be & streched the edges.but i did not like it so i put it in wide & it was a lot better alot of people use wide on the tosh because they don`t like the effect superlive gives.
     
  22. lentini

    lentini
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Dog Eater
    Ratings:
    +455
    Like everyone else on this forum who owns an LS60, I'm well happy with it. I run Sky Digital and the picture (as long as the quality of the broadcast is good) is superb.

    I did have 2 problems with mine though. It didn't like my Pioneer DVD but I've since bought a Tosh 220 and the picture is stunning.
    I've also got a little geometry problem which I trying to sort out a replacement.
     
  23. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    i`ve got the same dvd player. but it is connected with component cables that cost me £60.00 but if i get this tv i will have to connect it by scart .so i`ve wasted £60.00 but what the heck.i just need a good tv.was it the top & bottom line that was out on the geometry.as i had this problem on the tosh.
     
  24. lentini

    lentini
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Dog Eater
    Ratings:
    +455
    No, it's an upward bend in the bottom cemtre of the screen, mostly noticable when watching 2.35:1 DVD's, something like Sky Sports News or when you put on Sky's EPG. The missus doesn't notice it but I know it's there and it's bugging the hell out of me!! :mad:


    Found this picture in another thread and the bottom of this screen is what it looks like.

    [​IMG]
     
  25. thepange

    thepange
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just to add to the other guys comments on this model, I've had mine for 2 months now and I can't praise it enough.

    Excellent sound & picture quality; I also have Sky digibox thru AV1 and the picture is crystal clear, no probs there.

    I had loads of hassle with Comet after having 4 faulty sets, 3 Thomson & 1 Toshiba, so its fab to now have a set with no probs AND a free 5yr warranty from JL.

    anyway, good luck.........;)
     
  26. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    hi guys i have now seen the sony it`s a very good set. good picture ect. but i also like the philips 9576 non pixel plus so i need to make my mind up soon.i took my dvd & scart plus set up disc & set up a philips9617. & all was looking good as i set it to 100hz.the picture was great but then i set it to pixel plus & it made my film look like it was in fast foward so i turned the dvd of then on & it still the same so i turned it back to 100hz & all was fine.so there is no way i will pay that kind of money on pixel plus i will just get a plain 100hz
     
  27. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Care to explain? I don't see any such effect in Pixel+ mode on my 9617. The picture produced from a DVD, in fact shows off the capabilities of Pixel+ in the best way.
     
  28. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    in 100hz mode the dvd looked great. but when i put pixel plus on the dvd looked like it was going twice as fast. ie planes/people seemed to speed up.but like i said on 100hz it was just like my tosh 32zd26.
     
  29. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    eh?

    Any DVD through Pixel plus that i have seen has been outstanding, i stood in Richer Sounds at the weekend in awe at the quality of the fifth element, it was so clear, like being in the actual studio.

    I don't think that increasing the resolution would speed up the image, in fact its impossible as bit rate and data transfer is dictated by the DVD player.

    Maybe a faulty set Liverpool?
     
  30. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,934
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    could be a faulty set but that is 2 of these set the first 1 was grainy & to be honest it looked sh*t but there is loads of people who are happy with pixel plus but. i must be very unlucky as i just have not seen this awsome picture everyone is going on about.but what i have seen i would not have pixel plus but that is just me.i have not seen a better picture than the tosh 32zd26 but i just couldn`t live with it`s faults.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice