Sony TV has gone mad!!

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by mjn, Jan 21, 2002.

  1. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    My set has gone crazy...!!!

    Firstly the geometry has been getting worse along the bottom edge on 2.35:1 material....with a bow effect, making the border bigger in the middle of the screen, and thinner at the corners.

    Secondly, the TV will no longer switch to widescreen upon anamorphic DVD's, i have to change manually!

    Thirdly, the brightness has gone stupid, must be about 500% over what it should be....the picture looks like an over exposed photograph on all inputs, except RGB. Strange thing is, the teletext is ok on the channels??

    Is there a way of reseting the Tv to factory defaults to see if that makes a difference?

    please help!!
     
  2. DPJT78

    DPJT78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    checked that site, and its mostly for the KV-32FX60... :(
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    update...the autowidescreen switching only works on R2 and not on R1....very strange..

    IS it a different pin to auto change widescreen modes for PAL and NTSC material??
     
  5. DPJT78

    DPJT78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think no.

    The auto format is tranfered by one of the 21 pins of the scart connnexion (I don't know if 'scart' is the correct word for 'peritel' in french') and the voltage in this particular pin changes from +6V to +12V for 16/9 autoformat (if I remember well).

    Maybe this particular pin is not connected (or no more connected) on your R1 connexion.

    Did you disconnect your DVD player recently or change the connexion from R2 to R1 ? because the welding of these connexions is very often fragile.
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    no changes were made to either Tv or DVD.......
     
  7. John Jennings

    John Jennings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +5
    My Philips TV doesn't Anamorphic switch for R1 discs either, it never has. I've read somewhere that the switching signal is different for R1 and some TVs don't detect it....

    Did your set used to be OK for R1 switching?
     
  8. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    yes my TV used to change on R1 DVD's.....and i will have a look at that guide..thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice