1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sony tv discrete off code help please (pronto ru940)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Rich_Enduro, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    hi guys,
    I've posted this over on the remote central website but I'm not having too much luck so far. so i thought as my tv is a uk model i'd post here and see if anyone has found the answer to this problem.
    I have used the discrete code as below, but i cannot get my TV(kv32fq86 UK model) to switch off using this code, is there anything else i can try? the Ir indicator blinks but thats it!! the discrete on seems to be OK?
    cheers,
    Rich

    0000 0067 0000 000d 0060 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 03de
     
  2. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,968
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Dont know about a specific code , but as a work round you could programme the discrete on code you have , followed by a short pause , followed by the standard standby button .
    So long as the "On" code does nothing whe the set is on , it should work.
    I miss my pronto :(
    John
     
  3. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,968
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    Ps
    Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:
    john
     
  4. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    cheers john.
    I want to avoid the work around if posible, I'm sure rapidly switching the set on then off won't do it any good, long term?
     
  5. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    10,968
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,660
    If it truly is a Discrete ON code , then the TV will just ignore it .
    Have you tried any other Sony discrete codes, for another Sony TV ? They tend to be standard across the range , Something might be listed under a different model

    Good luck
    John
     
  6. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    this is true but if the telly is already off, it'll switch on then back off again, I'm sure that won't do it any good? my next step is to try all the Sony codes i can find. but that might take me a while!!
     
  7. GreenBars

    GreenBars
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +23
  8. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +752
    On my Sony TV, the power button on the remote is essentially a discrete off.
    The teletext off button (the empty square symbol) is essentially a discrete on, except that if the set is already on it will display the channel number you are watching for a few seconds. No problem really.

    I have a Marantz RC9200 (pronto clone) and all my macros work perfectly using these functions.
     
  9. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    cheers Jules
    any chance you can post the hex code for that command?
    thanks
    Rich
     
  10. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,945
    Discrete Off:

    0000 0066 0000 000D 0060 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0416
     
  11. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,074
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +752
    On
    0000 0067 0041 0000 0061 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0406 0061 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0406 0061 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0406 0061 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0406 0061 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0031 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018 0019 0018

    Off
    0000 0067 0000 000d 0060 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 03de
     
  12. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks mjn,
    but this is the standard command code 21 for power, unfortunatly its not a discrete off.
    thanks jules,
    this is the command code 47 which is the standard sony discrete off code but it doen't work with my set.
    this is so annoying, the old av discrete codes work fine but not the important off command

    all sony command codes here
     
  13. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,978
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,945
    No, that code i posted is discrete off, as i use it with my Sony TV!
     
  14. Rich_Enduro

    Rich_Enduro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    sorry mjn. i came to that conclusion after trying it, it switched my set on and off! also i have used the pronto ir tool to decode/uncode the hex code and it says its the standard command code 21 for power as listed on this website. all i can think is that sony have messed something up!
     

Share This Page

Loading...