1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony t.v & DVD Question

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Spunky, May 9, 2002.

1. Spunky

Spunky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've recently bought a nice new sony t.v- 32fq75- yes i've read about what everyone thinks about them, and i seem to be one of the luck few who doesn't have a problem with it.
    But i've just come across something i've never noticed before, when watching dvds there is a noticable grain on areas that are the same colour.
    Now, i'm no expert and i honestly don't know an awful lot, so any help would be appreciated.
    Is this 'grain' normal?
    Is it to do with a bad dvd player/Scart/Faulty setup?
    I'm using a Sanyo avd-8501 dvd player- Not the best thing around, but seems pretty decent.
    Connected to the RGB scart with a profigold pgv782 SCART. I haven't messed with the service menu, just the normal user one.
    Also i've never set a t.v. up properly, so if anyones got any guides on doing it i'd be grateful.
    Ta,
    Spunky

2. Squirrel God

Squirrel God

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Probably due to a combination of the DVD player (Sanyo, renowned for making poor DVD players I'm afraid) and the scart cable (although I've no idea what sort of cable this is - if it's oxgen free, fully shielded, and has gold plated connectors, then it's good; if it isn't get an Ixos or a QED scart).

Also, check that the DVD player is outputting RGB. If it can't, then output S-Video. Then make sure that the scart socket on the TV is set to receive RGB or S-Video (as appropriate). RGB will probably need to be plugged into the first scart on the TV, S-Video will be okay in the other two (from what I know of this TV).

3. Spunky

Spunky
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn Sanyo!!!