1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony STRDB930 LFE cutoff

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by FunkyMonkey, May 12, 2003.

Tags:
  1. FunkyMonkey

    FunkyMonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +83
    Is it possible to set the LFE cut-off on this reciever? I need to ensure my sub and satellites are in balance and I'm not swampign any particular frequency. Thanks.
     
  2. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    It's a while since i used a 930 but i think it's fixed on the 930 at 120Hz.
     
  3. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it is. I owned a 930 for a little under a year & AFAIK it had variable LFE cutoff. Best check its manual under 'Multi channel surround setup' if you still have it

    HTH
     
  4. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Apologies...for getting this wrong...old age!
     
  5. sounddog

    sounddog
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    107
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    Ratings:
    +461
    are you sure it's variable on the 930 ... I don't remember ever seeing any way to change it on mine.
     
  6. Grimley

    Grimley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 940 & the freq. cut offs are variable on that, but I can't remember if its the same on the 930. I never really adjusted the settings on it that much. I left it on auto all the time I used it & just tweaked the individual volume settings a little. I never bothered with freq. cut off settings back then, I didn't think it would make a great deal of difference with my system.
     
  7. HotblackDesiato

    HotblackDesiato
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +230
    Me neither but Grimley seems sure and to be honest i only think the 930 didn't because when the 1080 arrived i noticed the LFE cut was variable...odd logic but there you go. With the main/surrounds set to small the crossover default was 120Hz, again from recollection, so even if the LFE cut is fixed at 120Hz it shouldn't be too problematical.
     
  8. FunkyMonkey

    FunkyMonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +83
    Hi all. Looked at manual last night. There is no mention of the cutoff. All I can see remotely relatign to it is the digitally controlled equaliser controls, but this isn't the same is it?

    The only sentence of note in the manual goes somethign like this:
    "To make maximum use of the LFE effects, set your subwoofer cut-off frequency to eh highest possible".

    I did this and NOW my sofa shakes. WOW, what a difference! Strangely I can still get the same lowish frequencies from my main speakers so I'm not sure what's going on in stereo mode.

    Anyway, I'm happy with music and movie sound and special effects now, so as Tuffers said, "happy days". :)
     
  9. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    In stereo the sub should not be recieving a signal - try AFD for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...