"Sony STRDB598"

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by clubber, Mar 7, 2006.

Tags:
  1. clubber

clubber

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, i'm starting to put together my own seperates system. I have nothing at the moment lol but i felt it best to start with the Amp and a pair of speakers, because then i can send the music from my laptop untill i can afford the cd player.

I'm on a budget so i'm having to buy from littlewoods-online (slightly more expensive but only place that will let me pay later) I am a student lol.

http://www.littlewoods-online.com/r...tem_id=15&Mis_item_loc_id=1&product=273990433

So what do you guys think of this amp? Any good? I will use it for the following...

Music from laptop
    Music from CD Player seperate (when i buy it)
    Maybe a surround sound kit for my Xbox 360

Will this be good enough for all that^

Thanks a lot guys :smashin:

2. Cable Monkey

Cable Monkey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +205
    I am going to be brutally honest and say don't buy it. Your primary use will be music and for that money you could get a very competent stereo amp. If your circumstances dictate you must buy it, try LXDirect who are a sister company to Littlewoods but are 20 quid cheaper!

3. clubber

clubber

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mate but i think i'm lost now...

whats a stereo amp then if this isn't one? will this do the same job anyway? are there any bad things about this amp? is it loud enough 600w i think?

4. deksawyer

deksawyer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +132
    The amp you mention is a Home Cinema amp - designed for multi channel audio playback from movies and the like. It'll be sh*t at stereo music playback.