Sony STRDA1200 ES

Dead Cell

Novice Member
Hello all, I hope its ok to post this here as I have started another thread in the hifi and separates section. But the question I have is better suited for this section.

I've been recommended the Sony STRDA1200 ES but I just want to know if I will be able to connect some speakers to it and start blasting away? Or is the Sony STRDA1200 ES only used as a home cinema kit? The speakers are going to be the KEF IQ5.

If it is only used as a home cinema kit, then could someone be kind enough to point me to a normal Sony amplifier? I will need 5.1 for future use and it has to be somewhat powerfull.

There are a lot going for quite cheap on ebay but I'm a complete newbie and dont want to buy one only for it to not work or something!

Any help will be highly appreciated. Cheers.

chic

Hello all, I hope its ok to post this here as I have started another thread in the hifi and separates section. But the question I have is better suited for this section.

I've been recommended the Sony STRDA1200 ES but I just want to know if I will be able to connect some speakers to it and start blasting away? Or is the Sony STRDA1200 ES only used as a home cinema kit? The speakers are going to be the KEF IQ5.

If it is only used as a home cinema kit, then could someone be kind enough to point me to a normal Sony amplifier? I will need 5.1 for future use and it has to be somewhat powerfull.

There are a lot going for quite cheap on ebay but I'm a complete newbie and dont want to buy one only for it to not work or something!

Any help will be highly appreciated. Cheers.
The Sony STRDA1200 ES is adecent amp and you will need speakers to go with it and is not part of a home cinema kit its a separate home cinema receiver and the kefs will connect straight in. And you can add the other speakers for 5.1 when needed. This amp has hdmi in but will only carry video so if you connect any kit via hdmi you will also need to connect an optical cable as well.