• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Sony str-dn 1000

jdnewcombe

Standard Member
I'm not a Techie but want to navigate better & get the best from equipment. Problems are -
1. When I switch on "Muting" appears. I know I can switch it off but it's bugging me why it appears. What have I done wrong?
2. Does anyone have a simple instruction for me to set up Bravia Sync linking my Sony 1000 Receiver; Sony BP 350 Blu-ray; & Sony 40W4000 TV?
3. Recently added Virgin+ HD Box but I'm not sure I'm getting HD from relevant channels. Is there anything I can do to confirm I'm getting HD?
4. Is the linear sound the best I can get - I've done Auto Cal & have speakers set to Small but still waiting for "Wow" factor! Any suggestions appreciated!:confused:

Sony 40W4000 TV; Sony STR-DN1000 Receiver; Sony BP350 Blu-ray; Virgin+ HD Box; Tannoy SFX 5:1 Speakers.

StevieBuck

Prominent Member
I don't use Bravia Sync on any of my equipment so can't give much help on that. No idea why the amp would automatically switch on muting either when you power it up.

I haven't used a Virgin HD box, but if its like Sky+HD it may tell you in the programme info banner/EPG. Not all HD channels broadcast in HD 100% of the time. Channels like Channel 4 HD & ITV HD only show their respective HD channel logo in the corner of the screen when the current programme is being broadcast in HD, which is a fairly good indicator. You should of course also be able to see the difference in picture quality if it is in fact HD!