Sony STR-DH820 - Xbox 360 with component cable

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by noceross, Jan 8, 2012.

Tags:
  1. noceross

    noceross
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    having spent much of the weekend setting up my newly purchased Sony STR-DH820, the one struggle I am having is with my old Xbox 360 (with the component cables, no HDMI). I have my PS3, Sky+ and Apple TV in the HDMI ports for "Game", "Sat/CATV" and "Video 1".

    As the BD/DVD HDMI port is not in use, I thought I should be able to use the component port for BD/DVD (with the green blue & red), and the audio ports for BD/DVD (red and white). The audio side seems to work, but I am not getting any video. And I am sure I've assigned it correctly, pointing at COMP1 (where the component cable is plugged in)

    Has anyone got any ideas where I might be going wrong? :lease:

    Cheers
     
  2. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,161
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  3. noceross

    noceross
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah ok, so it wasn't me being a clueless newbie, I was trying to do something that's not possible. That's some relief. I've now done the picture straight to the tv thru the component cable, and audio via optical.

    Thanks so much for the help.
     
  4. scottthehat

    scottthehat
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    11,161
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    honiton
    Ratings:
    +2,799
    like you i would have done the same, but we live and learn so enjoy.
     
  5. tarheelblue96

    tarheelblue96
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just completed setup of my 820 last night, and it capable of passing both component and composite video inputs to your TV via HDMI. Not sure why it's not working for you. Two suggestions:
    1 - reassign the HDMI 1 port to "None". HDMI 1 is defaulted to BD/DVD, so there may be a conflict (although there shouldn't be)

    2 - assign an unused input like "MD/TAPE" to COMP 1 and the appropriate Optical Input (or use the MD/TAPE analog audio inputs). This should work and will eliminate the need to run component cables to your TV. You can also rename the MD/TAPE input to read XBOX on your receiver to help avoid confusion.

    Hope this helps. Good luck!
     
  6. tarheelblue96

    tarheelblue96
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, please note that the threads referenced in one of the previous posts are for the DG820, NOT the DH820.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice