Sony STR DH800

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Telstar20012, Jan 3, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Telstar20012

    Telstar20012
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey all.

    I have a Sony STR DH800 which has failed. The HDMI video board is knackered ( I think. I have posted about this problem but not getting any feed back)

    My question is this: If I use component video going to my TV will I still be able to plug my Sky and Blu-ray in the Amp via HDMI.

    Will I lose quality at all?

    Cheers.

    I also have an Optical cable.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2012
  2. Scotty Pro

    Scotty Pro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Washington, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +131
    How old is the amp, probably a couple of year I would guess. If I were you I would chase up a repair, a piece of modern day electronic kit should last longer than a couple of years.

    Who did you buy it from ?

    If it was Richer Sounds or any other reputable dealer I would definitely try to get them to repair it under the sale of goods act ;)
     
  3. Telstar20012

    Telstar20012
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Scotty Pro.

    Yes it was bought from Richersounds, but I bought it from a private seller on Ebay
     
  4. Scotty Pro

    Scotty Pro
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Washington, Tyne & Wear
    Ratings:
    +131
    Well if you have the receipt I would try to get it repaired, Richer Sounds are actually a good firm to deal with when it comes to repairs.

    I took out the 5 year warranty when I bought mine, just for peace of mind :smashin: and if I don't use it I can get my money back :clap:

    As to your original question, you have nothing to lose by trying, BTW have you another HDMI lead to try on the amp HDMI output ?
     
  5. Telstar20012

    Telstar20012
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No receipt :blush: ( Have messaged the seller though and asked for it ) Lesson learned.

    I have a 5yr warranty with them for my Blu-ray.

    I have tried another lead and also plugged my sky and bd into the tv and all is fine.

    When I use the amp I have no picture and the sound is intermttent.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice