1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony STR-DB925 volume stopped working.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Timh, Jun 12, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    My Amps volume has stopped reacting to my remote command, it started a fiew months ago but only intermittent. it just seemed to be the first 25% which got used the most, now its packed in all together :(
    Any ideas whats wrong? is it worth stripping down and cleaning the motor out?

    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    :(
     
  3. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    big downer tim.

    presumably the volume still works if you go up to the amp?


    have you tried doing a hard reset of the amp... sure there was a key press to do this.


    also, assuming you arent using a learning remote and just the sony supplied one... have you tried something else to control it?

    at least worth a try to confirm it.
     
  4. cutes6

    cutes6
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2001
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Near Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
    Tim if you like the amp like I do and yours is faulty - I have one for sale having upgraded.

    Let me know if you are interested and make me an offer
     
  5. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    I had the cover of my Amp this morning, there doesn't look like much can be done, what the hell, I though I would have a go, I removed the Knob and then disconnected the circuit board that the volume motor was attached to, on closer inspection I found the motor was seeled, I didn't think it was worth attacking just incase the volume stopped working all together, it just meens I will have to get up to make any volume changes :( Damb Sony cheap muck :mad:
    I then put it all back together tried the remote and Yes! the remote volume was working, it must have just been a bad connection between the circuit board and where it plugs in :)
    No new Amp time then :( I really want to go for a Denon AVR-2802 but can't justify the expence when my Amp is working fine now :(
     
  6. MartinCo

    MartinCo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1
    glad you got it working.

    I switched from a Sony 925 to 2802 - big improvement... in both home cinema and stereo.
    also soon to be joining you with a Panasonic pj...(with supplies permitting).
     
  7. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,821
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +140
    You wont look back after having the Big picture :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...