1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SONY STR-DB790 Remote

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Tom3316, Mar 10, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +28
    Does any one know where i can find a picture of the SONY STR-DB790 Remote control.
    Thanks
     
  2. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Here you go. If you want a better one I'll try again tommorrow in the daylight.

    Link
     
  3. duke996

    duke996
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm seriously considering the Sony but I'd like to know what sort of bass cut out frequencies it has.

    I was looking at an Onkyo 601 and it clearly states 80,100,120 etc.

    Could you or anyone tell me if the 790 has these bass management optins.

    thanks.
     
  4. stevej

    stevej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    You can choose between 60, 100 and 150.

    The remote's not up to much IMO.

    Steve
     
  5. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +28
    cheers magic boy thanks for the pic.
     
  6. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    I bought the Sony without seeing the remote, and I'm happy with it - seems a lot better than the hideous controls with the equivalent Yamaha's etc.

    It also functions as sort of system remote. You can't train it, but it has codes for most common AV kit. I've got mine controlling the basic functions on my Toshiba TV/DVD and a Panasonic VHS desk without problems. Haven't managed to get my Cambridge Audio CD player or my NTL digital box working yet. It would probly work best with Sony AV equipment.
     
  7. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +28
    is it a good reciever then i have heard loads of good reviews. does it do DTS ES Discrete
     
  8. stevej

    stevej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    If does DTS ES, DPL2, DD EX. I can only compare it to my old YamahaRXV396(?), and a mates Sherwood and the difference is night and day. The remote only really does basic functions. I took the Pronto route after getting wound up by a Mosaic and then the Sony Remote Commander - what a name!
     
  9. clayts450

    clayts450
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    Yes, and DTS ES Matrix too. Oh and DTS 96/24 :)
     
  10. Tom3316

    Tom3316
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    463
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +28
    cool sounds like a good one. cant wait to get one
     
  11. csx1

    csx1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midsomer Norton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I did a bit of a review a couple of weeks ago on this amp
    CSX
     
  12. gudjong

    gudjong
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Iceland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wort every penny you pay for it.

    :clap:
     
  13. Dreamboy

    Dreamboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just buyed mine. I don't know what's wrong but doesn't detect my Dolby Digital signal. :(

    Any help?
     
  14. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    You really should open a new thread for this... :lesson:

    /Edit - Oh he did, just replied to an existing topic after....

    Anyway, Dolby Digital/DTS etc need a digital input configured as a bitstream. The Sony automatically detects the sound format when in AFD mode. There's a button for it on the remote and the front panel. If that doesn't work checkyour DVD player (or whatever) is set to output digital audio as a bitstream. PCM will only give 2 channel output.
     

Share This Page

Loading...