1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony STR-DB790 Dolby Digital EX?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dave911, Feb 12, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Dave911

    Dave911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +34
    Having just bought the above amp I am somewhat bemused as to why it only picks up certain discs allegedly recorded in EX. The example I must use is both region 2 verions of LOTR 1&2, both state thgat they are in EX, however only LOTR 2 displays that it is decoding the signal, LOTR 1 says that it is 5.1.

    Is LOTR 1 encoded as EX or not, or is there something wrong with my amp. I have looked on the forum and seen that people have had to get software upgrades for older Sony models. Haviong just spent a load of dosh on my 6th surround speaker I want to get the benefit. Can someone give me some advice.

    Be careful out there
    Dave:confused:
     
  2. Pacha

    Pacha
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's simply that older DDEX discs don't carry the 'flag' on the disc which tells the hardware there is a 6th channel. This is being rectified by Dolby, as you have found with LOTR 2. All you have to do is switch the amp to 6.1 manually. It is not a fault of the amp.
     
  3. Dave911

    Dave911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanx Patcha, I know I am pushing the boat out now, but hard as I try, I cannot appear to sipmly select 6.1 on the amp, the only thing I can do is matrix the rear surrounds, is that doing what I want. Maybe I am getting old, things like this did not used to be a problem for me!!
     
  4. clayts450

    clayts450
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    You need to use the CUSTOMISE set up menu, and switch the surround rear channel to MATRIX - this will then reproduce the sound in full 6.1 - see pages 34 and 35 in the manual :)
     
  5. Dave911

    Dave911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thanx for that, will give it a go and enjoy the movie as intended. Don't know about you but the manual for the amp is about as clear as mud!! :rolleyes:


    Be careful out there
     
  6. stevej

    stevej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I ahve this amp as well. The easy thing to do is to use either the remote or the button on the front of the amp marked Surr Back Decoding press repeatedly and it will cycle through auto, matrix and off. If you select matrix all soudtracks will be processed DD EX. Hope this helps.
     
  7. Chewbacca

    Chewbacca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    You are right dave911 You are getting old:hiya: :laugh:
     
  8. kiddi

    kiddi
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    do you reccomend using this matrix decoding on all DD EX even if you only have a 5.1 speaker setup??

    edit: oh and since I won't have a sub for a while. Do you still think I should use matrix decoding for EX with a 5.0 speaker setup?
     
  9. stevej

    stevej
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's another case of 'suck it and see'. Some peeps swear by it, some think it's a waste of time. Personally, I'd push for a surround back speaker; once you have one and turn it off you notice it's missing. IMO, naturally!
     
  10. Dave911

    Dave911
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +34
    Well guys and gals (have to be polically correct) I can now say having tried it the extra rear is great, it does work as I have tried listening with and without the rear speaker enable and with; the rear soundstage is much smoother. So the lesson I have learned is THE MATRIX RULES!! (only the first one the rest were crap). And Chewbacca - get back to your painting or I will tell Jackie youve been down the pub again.

    Thanx to everyone you have solved my problem.

    Cheers

    Dave911
     

Share This Page

Loading...