1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sony str-db780 -> sub = no sound?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by knoxy, May 2, 2003.

Tags:
  1. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    Anybody else had this problem? I've noticed somebody else had the problem but didn't really find a solution that helped me out...

    When I run the receiver in test-mode, i can hear the buzzing from all speakers including the sub - but when I play a movie, the amount of bass generated is tiny.

    I have a Velo VX-10 and it's got two input jacks on the back both of which I'm utilising with a y-connector that goes to my sub woofer interconnect.

    If anybody could help me out, it'd be most appreciated.

    Regards,
    Knoxy
     
  2. damtom1

    damtom1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It may be ,that you have the bass directed to your front speakers or the crossover may be set incorrectly.Access the on screen menu and check the settings.....maybe!
     
  3. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    can you set the level of bass on this unit? i set up the fronts as small but i'm not sure i can set the amount of bass...

    i've also adjusted the crossover setting on the back of the sub too but no difference :confused:
     
  4. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Have you tried the phase switch yet, that might give you more bass.
     
  5. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    hmm, not really noticing anything - i'm not getting any bass to begin with...

    grr - really annoying problem this, got a velo vx-10 sitting redundant while i use the fpeakers for all the bass :(
     
  6. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    What setting have you got the amp on?
    Is the subwoofer shown on the amp display?
    Is the led on the subwoofer going green?
     
  7. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    well, if u take it from the factory default settings, i've got my sub on (when u go into the speaker setup menu) and i've also turned my fronts and centre as 'small'.

    the sub is showing on the display. when playing a dvd, i see the LFE symbol light up.

    the sub makes a noise when in test zone and the light is green.
     
  8. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    I've got the tv on in the other room( some music channel)and can hear the bass no problem.

    My settings are

    front speakers small
    centre speaker small
    rears small
    sub yes
    lfe all speakers 80hz
    lfe cut 80hz
    level to sub +10db

    on sub
    crossover turned up full
    volume between dot3 and 4
    phase at 0
     
  9. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    just watched the opening scene of saving private ryan - first scene the sub was on standby (amber light) - next scene with the boats coming in the sub went active (green light).

    bass not that noticeable...

    hmm, not sure if i can set the lfe levels on the amp... on the sub though its at 120 (maxed).

    i'll set the level on the sub to +10 though and see if that makes a difference
     
  10. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    nope, ahh well - going into town so i'll go into shop and see what they say as they use the same amp for the demo room...

    watch this space ...
     
  11. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    thats strange mines 200hz
     
  12. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    well, went into town to Superfi (very helpful, great shop - definitely buying from there again!) and they couldnt understand why the sub wasnt getting any sound - only thing they could suggest really was to bring the receiver in so they could hook it up to their system in the demo room and see if there was a problem.

    btw, upping the level on the sub to +10 didnt help :(

    when i go into the shop i may change it to a marantz sr4300... or even a yammy 630... hmm...

    NOTE: managed to find another thread on another website - related to problem i've been having:

    http://www.agoraquest.com/viewtopic.php?topic=5870&forum=51
     
  13. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    That only helps with the auto sensing of the sub.
     
  14. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    changed the amp - same problem, possibly the sub or the cable, or just the way i have it set up!!!

    or maybe i'm expecting too much?
     
  15. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    The same one or something different?
     
  16. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    have you tried moving the sub into a different place
     
  17. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    i haven't actually - its in the corner of my room with the back of it up against a wall with the side about a foot out from the other wall.

    what volume setting have you got yours set to? mines at 11 - 11.30...

    (good grief! you reply quickly!)
     
  18. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    My volume on the sub is about the same but the amps on +10db.
     
  19. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    hmm, i'm lost - think i'll have to bring the sub into town (and the cable just in case thats it) and see if the guys in the shop can help me out assuming there's a problem at all! :confused:
     
  20. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Strange if the led goes green its getting a signal it could be the sub.You should hear a big difference with the sub on with the missions.
     
  21. knoxy

    knoxy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +31
    bringing it in on wedn so i'll let u know if i get anywhere with it then! cheers for helping me out to this point anyway, most appreciated!
     
  22. JoshyB

    JoshyB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did anyone ever find a solution to this problem?

    I posted a seperate post myself on this but it got moved to the subwoofers section where it doesnt belong.

    I think theres something wrong with the amp but I dont know what!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...