sony str-da1200es

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by scottygio, Jan 4, 2007.

Tags:
  1. scottygio

    scottygio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    On carrying out the autocalibration function it asks you to switch the input of the tv so that the setting menu is displayed on the tv screen. I have a hdmi cable coming from 'monitor out' of the amplifier to the hdmi input of the tv but the screen does not appear on the tv. Any help?

    regards

    scott
     
  2. Stung

    Stung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    You need to connect to the svid or phono at the back of the amp labled as monitor out.
     
  3. scottygio

    scottygio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does that mean i have to purchase a cable which connects between the amplifier and the tv? Seems a bit much just to set up an amplifier. The amplifier has 3 phono sockets, do i connect a component video cord to the tv monitor?

    regards

    scott
     
  4. Stung

    Stung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    I set mine up last night without connecting to the monitor out. You can do it all from the LCD display.

    If you really need/want to see the video output whilst setting up, just use a simple composite video cable.

    On page 27 of the instructions, the diagram shows component, s-video and (composite) video cables connecting from the TV to the amp. The component connections are used if you want to switch between TV/SAT and DVD component feeds. Similarly, use the s-video connections to switch between TV/SAT and DVD s-video feeds.

    Use the monitor out connection if you want to view the video image output by the amp. You would use this connection to view all your setup options on your TV. You have two options here. You can use the (composite) video or the s-video. You can use a yellow coloured phono to phone cheap cable. Like I said, you don't need to do this. You can do all your setting up using the LCD on the front of the amp.
     
  5. scottygio

    scottygio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stung,

    thanks very much for your help, it has helped me immensely,

    thanks again,,

    scott
     
  6. Stung

    Stung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    You're welcome. Enjoy!:smashin:
     
  7. flushingmeadows

    flushingmeadows
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +13
    Slightly (only very slightly) off topic, I too have one of these amps - what settings are you guys generaly using?

    There are various ones available via the AFD and Movie buttons - I seem to have stuck with Cinema Studio Ex A - is this right/is this the best setting?
     
  8. Stung

    Stung
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    I just managed to wire mine up last night and tried out a few of the settings but nothing permanent as yet. I'm still experimenting...
     
  9. Fedorov

    Fedorov
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm going by the descriptions in the manual so for most movies use Cinema Studio Ex A...

    Action movies use B

    Musical/Movies use C

    Sounds great so far!
     

Share This Page

Loading...