1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony RM-AV3000T

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by perrdl, Nov 11, 2002.

  1. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am thinking of getting one of these Remote's in the near future, I was just interested in peoples comments on them.

    Are they worth the cash, or is there a similarly priced remote which has more functionality.

    Also does anybody know a place to get a good price on one of these.

    Thanks
     
  2. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody?
     
  3. STOWITBELOW

    STOWITBELOW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,578
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +49
    Sorry I have no first hand knowledge of this remote, however I own a RMav2000t, an earlier version of the 3000. It's fine & does far more of the functions you get on a componets remote, than any other learning mote I've used. (I have tried several) Unfortunatly it still can't do everything (its capacity to learn some functions seem limited) However by and large it's nicer on the setee arm than my previous aray. There are always 2nd hand ones for sale on ebay (internet auction site) & unbeatable were selling them cheap.I must add the ability to operate several componants with one key press I have found pretty useless.
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the US version, Sony RM-AV3000, this does not support teletext. I don't mind this as I seldom use it and I can always re-program the keys if I need to.

    From what I've read, the 3000 is better at learning and has more memory.

    I love it. I use it on the following:

    Sony TV
    Sony DVD
    Panasonic Digibox
    Sky+
    Tivo
    Panasonic DMR-e20 DVD Recorder
    JVC Video

    Apart from the TV and DVD I had to program all the other devices. It took no time at all and was very easy.

    I paid £115 plus P&P from an ebay buy it now.

    Just checked and he isn't advertising at the moment. There are some there but they are sent from the states and P&P is £25.

    Hope this helps

    DaveP
     
  5. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot.

    Thats a great help!
     
  6. freesey

    freesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my friend one for his birthday because he seems to enjoy gadgets :) The cheapest online store I found was www.ecost.com
    Happy hunting
     
  7. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    That site seems very cheep, but I need on for the U.K, and they do not ship internationally.
     
  8. freesey

    freesey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im sorry I figured you were located in the US like most of the lucky online shoppers here, Im not in the US either so I know how hard it is to find good deals online that actually ship to your address.
     
  9. Edward Greatrex

    Edward Greatrex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  10. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats a great price thanks
     
  11. Deron

    Deron
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just noticed this thread.

    I've had the 3000 from the Sates now for a couple of months. Only thing I had to manually program in was the analogue cable box.

    It had codes for my.

    Sony TV + Video (naturally)
    Marantz DVD player (philips)
    Denon amp.

    It was dead easy to use and it worked out at about £100 all in. I bought mine from Mrniceguyonline who sells on ebay...

    £130 is a great price though for the UK version...

    Actually I may sell mine just so I get a warranty...hmm.
     
  12. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just ordered one.....Hopefully I will get it in time for Christmas.

    They are being released at the start of next week.
     
  13. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just noticed that the price has now gone upto £199.96 on that web site.

    Hopefully I get it for the £130 which I ordered it for.

    However I am expecting a phone call to tell me it has gone up in price, and that they are not able to give it me for that amount. We will see!!!
     
  14. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you get it for £130 in the end?

    DaveP
     
  15. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's still on order, I hope that they honour the price though!!!

    I will check again, but the last time I did they said it would not be availible until after Christmas.
     
  16. Hugo Skeeter

    Hugo Skeeter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you can get someone in the USA to forward it on to you, and avoid customs it comes in at about £85. The bargain basement sellers in the US tend not to ship internationally, but a polite e-mail might persuade them to help you out.
     
  17. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I finally took delivery of this remote today, which is a little bit longer than expected!!!

    Unbeatable changed me £196.96 + £7.99 delivery, rather than the £130.96 + £7.99 price, which was the price that I ordered it at.

    So a quick phone call to them sorted it out, and they refunded me the cash, which I was not expecting.

    So I managed to get the remote at the reduced price. :D
     
  18. kenny.c

    kenny.c
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I decided to take the RISK and it was a bit of a risk i suppose and went for a guy on ebay selling "band new boxed RM-AV3100" US version of the UK model. It arrived when it was promised it was band new in retail box! Unopened! It does say NTSC version on the box but for the life of me cannot see any reason this is going to cause any problems!!

    What a fantastic remote! Very programmable! Very usable! The macro's enable multi tasks from one button push! Very usefull....

    And best thing it was £76 delivered!!!!

    Ian
     
  19. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,019
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +236
  20. Moviebuff

    Moviebuff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,019
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +236
  21. Symey

    Symey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so the us versions work fine on uk products?

    you can seem to pick them up for £75 all in on ebay at the mo...
     
  22. kenny.c

    kenny.c
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    got mine from a guy in the US called "GORICHBOY" off Ebay and he did everything he said he would and remote turned up brand new in retail box.....

    Sony remote from GORICHBOY


    Ian
     
  23. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    purchased mine from Gradius70 on ebay for £64 delivered and works a treat

    Panny pwd6 (added a few buttons with learn)
    Philips dvdr75 (added a few buttons with learn)
    Panny sky box (added all buttons with learn)
    Sony STR-DB930 (had the codes already)
    Skyworth Divx (added all buttons with learn)

    selecting channels on sky using macros doesn't work (macro 130 produces 111333000 for some reason) but apart from that it's fantastic.
     
  24. davet010

    davet010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Can you program the functions of a Sky+ box into this ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...