Sony RDR -HXD970 or Panasonic DMR-EX87EB?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by smartjafo, Sep 17, 2007.

1. smartjafo

smartjafo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am just getting into this game and trying to put together my first system. I am looking at either of the above DVD/HDD recorders to go along with Sony STRDA 1200ES or STR DG 910 or ONKYO TXSR605 receivers. My choice of speakers would be B&W MT20. I intend connecting to a Sony KLD40W2000 LCD.
    I'm looking for ease of use - particulary for recording/playback from TV etc and playning the odd DVD and my own music.
    Any advice or comments on my choices would be gratefully recieved.
    many thanks
    jafo
    :lease:

2. Gavtech

Gavtech
    Administrator

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7,093
    Welcome to the forum.

You have chosen two very good machines.

You can scarcely go wrong with either.

Good luck with your purchase.

3. mray

mray

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +235
    If you're not going to use the Freeview timer, or DVD-RAM, I'd recommend the Sony. I have an EX75 and an 870, which is a Pioneer clone, I think.

I used to use a DMRE50, which was very user friendly. I bought the EX75 thinking it would be a much better machine for recording quality, as around three years have passed and technology has moved on.

To cut a long story short, the Sony is a better recorder, IMO, and is easier to use. The manual record mode is a better version of Panasonics flexible record mode. To me SP mode looks better on the Sony too. I see blocking on the Panny.

The GUI is easy to use and there are more settings to play about with too.

When copying from the HD on the Panasonic, no other function is available, as a copy progress menu is permanently displayed. On the Sony you can record and copy to DVD at the same time, or copy and watch another recording, and so on.