1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony RDR-HX900 won't record from digital TV channels using timer

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mughie, Sep 22, 2005.

1. Mughie

Mughie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: :rolleyes: I'm a raw newbie to this forum and seriously struggling with my 6 month-ish old home entertainment system. I do soooo....hope some kind soul may be able to help me with this - it's driving me mad!
    I have a Sony KDL-L32MRX1 TV which receives all the digital channels via a Sony Media Box MDB-MRX1. However the TV does not enable any of the interactive stuff we are supposed to be able to do these days using the Red button, and more importantly, I am unable to perform timed recording from any of the digital channels onto my HDD DVD recorder (Sony RDR-HX900) - for some reason the DVD only recognises the analogue channels.
    I contacted Sony - Europe by email and got a response which instructed me how to perform instant direct recording, with the desired channel playing on the TV and that worked, but my main reason for having a recorder is to record when I'm not there.
    The TV has the EPG facility, but if I try to use that it only offers the options of recording to a Memory card, or a VCR. My VCR (yes...Sony..!!) isn't even connected at the moment as I'm trying to simplify things. Who wants to record a whole movie etc to a Memory Card? And I was under the impression that VCR's were old hat (but I still want one for all my old VHS recordings/tapes) and DVD was the way to go, so does anyone know why I am not offered the DVD as an option for recording using EPG to?
    I find the manuals unbelievably complicated and simply get lost when they keep telling me to refer back to previous sections - I just lose the plot.