SONY RDR-HX900 Multiregion ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by the.jackall, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. the.jackall

    the.jackall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought one of these machines from my local dealer,its listed on their website as rce and 1-6,however when I put in an American dvd it says play Prohibited,have I been stung ? Or do you have to alter the settings in the menu to get it to play ?
     
  2. phil5743

    phil5743
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ongar, Essex
    Ratings:
    +28
    Mine just play automatically (RDR-HX1000)
     
  3. S Helton

    S Helton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Mine also just switches automatically. I don't think a region free mod would add a menu option to the standard Sony menu.

    Some mods may require you to select the region using the remote before switching the machine on - have you tried speaking to the dealer you bought it from ?
     
  4. the.jackall

    the.jackall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +0
    My dealer said the player needs to be zapped with a code from the shop handset.
    Whats the best way to record your old vhs onto the sony ? is it via the HDD in hq+ mode then onto dvd ? Or straight from the vhs to a blank dvd ?
    Cheers
     
  5. Ricardfred

    Ricardfred
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    If your dealer doesnt sort it just buy a chipped remote from dvdchips.co.uk. Cheap and effortless. My player now plays region 1 automatically.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice