Sony RDR - HX510 Region Free Hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by g13ryj, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. g13ryj

    g13ryj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found this on the net and tried it last night on my Region 2 model. It worked like a dream. I used my kamelion one for all 6 remote.

    prepare:
    1. select dvd device on remote
    2. hold magic button until device key blinks twice
    3. enter device code 0533

    program buttons 1-5 with the following codes:
    1 - 189
    2 - 255
    3 - 095
    4 - 221
    5 - 079

    1. hold magic button device key blinks twice
    2. press 994
    3. press magic
    4. enter 3digit code from above
    5. press button (1..5) where to program it
    6. repeat steps 1 to 5 for all keys.

    have a go:
    1. remove disk, put player on standby
    2. press 1,2,3,4,5 - Timer OK is displayed for DVD RECORDER HACK
    3. press 1,2,3,4,5 - Timer OK is displayed again and Bingo! It works! R1 disks play.
     
  2. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +68
    Any side-effects?? I don't have a Kameleon (yet), but would be interested to know if anything else changes as a result of the hack.
     
  3. g13ryj

    g13ryj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All seems fine to me mate. No problems at all as yet. :)
     
  4. papabear

    papabear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    if anybody out there tries this and it doesn't work put 00 before each of the nimber codes ie.... 00189 1 this will then give you the double flash of the led at the end of each sequence.
     
  5. jpm123

    jpm123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What model of the KAMELEON do you have ?

    is it the URC-8206 (2005) ?

    Cheers ...
     
  6. jpm123

    jpm123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi g13ryj,
    What model of the KAMELEON do you have ?

    is it the URC-8206 (2005) ?Thx!
     
  7. goldeneye243

    goldeneye243
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    I managed to get mine multiregion today using my PDA!!

    Well chuffed as I had previously thought that it was not possible.

    I thought that it was not going to work. In the end I used some further instruction from the net, and had the unit turned on, then entered 1122334455 twice.

    It then played R1 discs where before it had not!
     
  8. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    861
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +68
    I wonder if there's a way to do this with a Harmony 885?

    What device is code 0533?
     
  9. johnmccoy

    johnmccoy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ballynahinch
    Ratings:
    +0

    Could you let me know what software you used on your PDA to do this, and how you got it to work? :lease:
     
  10. goldeneye243

    goldeneye243
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    I got this from www.videohelp.com

    "I just hacked my Sony DVP-NS305 that I bought in Switzerland 1 year ago. Apparently there are many ways to do this. The following worked for me perfectly. It is true that the hack for the Sony DVP-NS900, posted by Shareman, works also for the NS305. You will need to 1) download the evaluation version of TV remote controller (http://www.pdawin.com/tvremote.html), 2) a PDA using Pocket PC or Pocket PC 2002 OS and 3) the following .ccf file (http://www.xs4all.nl/~pbonnet/sony.zip)
    In fact, I verified that the button codes posted by Josh for this thread of messages are identical to those that are defined in the .ccf file. However, I didn't need a power button.
    All you need is to install the TV remote controller on your PDA, load the .ccf file and you will be presented 5 buttons from 1 to 5.
    The NS305 in standby mode, press sequentially 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5 5 and you will get the SUCCESS message. Then again 1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5 5 and the NS305 will go back in standby mode.
    That's it :) "

    Make sure that you put the ccf file in "my documents" on you pda.

    I had to have the player turned on, then I think that I entered 1122334455 1122334455 and turned it off - which I found online somewhere.

    Make sure that you put the ccf file in "my documents" on you pda.

    Then when I turned it on again it played region 1 discs.

    It did take me a while of pressing the buttons though.

    Hope this helps!
     
  11. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +399
    Thanks goldeneye243 :D

    I just tried that using my PDA and it has updated the new Sony NS92V as well. Playing R1/R2/R3 all fine, probably has opened it up all regions and RCE as well.

    Excellent :thumbsup:
     
  12. misrsa

    misrsa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. misrsa

    misrsa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok!! Tried it with the kameleon all for one 4 and managed to do it. the setup is routine is slightly different (check the manual)

    I had to use device code 1070 for my HX510. :lesson:

    - Setup the kameleon for Sony DVD device 1070
    - Press and hold the magic key (hat) until the rabbit pops out
    - Press 'dev set' then 'key magic' and assign the codes above. all codes will have to be in 5 digits so prefix with a 00.
    - follow the other steps as above.
     
  14. deeman72

    deeman72
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    Thanks for your reply mate. Is it safe to do this to the machine, can it damage it in any way??

    Cheers
     
  15. goldeneye243

    goldeneye243
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have no idea if it can damage the machine - I would suggest that if you are concerned do not do it as there are no guarantees that it will not ruin your unit

    It did not damage my machine though.......

    Up to you if you want to try it.
     
  16. mart100

    mart100
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's also possible to unlock this recorder, and indeed most recent sony machines using a laptop with an infra-red port.

    I know because I have done it!!

    The info below is copied from another source, but please read my notes below that.

    1. Download the winsamp -package from Blank Franks site.
    This innovative piece of software allows you to send standard home electronics IR signals using a PC IRDA port.
    2. Extract the package onto a bootable DOS floppy disk.
    3. Save the following code into a file named "REMOTE.TXT" and put it in the same and place it in the same directory as the package above.


    "Sony Region Free Code 1",84,24,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,117,24,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,117
    "Sony Region Free Code 2",84,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118
    "Sony Region Free Code 3",84,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118
    "Sony Region Free Code 4",84,24,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,117,24,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,117
    "Sony Region Free Code 5",84,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118,24,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,12,6,12,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,6,6,6,12,6,6,118


    4. Boot up your PC from the floppy disk and run winsamp.exe.
    If your IRDA port doesn't appear as COM2 you may override this by using an appropriate command line switch. For example, use COM1 by running 'winsamp C1'.
    5. Press the 'r' key to load up the codes into winsamp.
    6. Make sure your DVD player is in standby mode and your IRDA port is within range.
    7. Run the IR codes from 1 to 5 by pressing Enter on each corresponding button.
    8. Your DVD player should start up and display the text "SUCCESS".
    9. Repeat step 7. Your player should return to standby mode.
    Your player is now multi-region.



    Notes:
    1. not all players display 'SUCCESS', some will display 'TIMER OK'
    2. it's not essential to extract the winsamp package to a floppy, or to boot the computer in DOS mode if you are using windows 98 or lower. running the program in a DOS shell works fine. I think it may be necessary if using a computer running XP.
    3. after unlocking my machine, I was able to successfully play a region 1 DVD. However, because it used the NTSC colour format, pictures appeared black and white on my PAL TV. This was because i was using a composite video connection. Changing the connection to RGB restored full colour (and sharper picture generally).

    I hope the above is helpful.
     
  17. darhart

    darhart
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2002
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leigh On Sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    just tried the PDA method with a Sony RDR-hx910 worked first time!!! Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  18. eoinf

    eoinf
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ive lost the book for my one for all could anyone tell me how to do the above
     
  19. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93
    Download the user manual from the oneforall website!
     
  20. Magaman

    Magaman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to all of you guys in this forum :thumbsup:

    Used Kameleon 3 in 1 (One for All – Kameleon – URC-8203)
    to hack the SONY DVP-NS52P for Multiregion playback. :D

    First prepare the remote:
    1. select dvd device on remote (dvd icon)
    2. hold magic button (for 3 sec.) until rabbit comes out of the hat
    3. enter device code 0533

    Now program buttons 1-5 with the following codes:
    1 - 00189
    2 - 00255
    3 - 00095
    4 - 00221
    5 - 00079

    To program keys with this remote do the following:
    1. hold magic button device key blinks twice
    2. press 994
    3. press magic button
    4. enter 5 digit code from above (ex: 00189)
    5. press button (1..5) where to program it

    Repeat steps 1 to 5 for all (five) keys.

    After this just apply the hack:
    1. remove disk, put player on standby
    2. press 1,2,3,4,5 - SUCCESS is displayed
    3. press 1,2,3,4,5 (again) - SUCCESS is displayed again! Put player on standby

    :clap: Thats it! It works! Now it plays R1, R2 and R3 disks (I don’t own other regions disks).

    ;-)
     
  21. samwem

    samwem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm gradually puling out the few remaining hairs I have trying to unlock my HX510 using the khameleon all for one...

    I've tried every combination of the instructions on here, plus similar ones from other sites... One lists the final code as 074 rather than 079.. I've put 00 in front, I've tried it without, I've changed the command mode from 3 to one and back again... All without success.

    Anyone got any idea's before I hoof the whole lot out the patio door ? :rolleyes:

    Any help greatfully appreciated...

    Mark.
     
  22. samwem

    samwem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay,

    Have now tried with the Khameleon, laptop and PDA... nothing... Tried all sorts of combo's still nothing. Only had this player for a couple of weeks. Is it possible Sony changed something ?

    anyone else got any ideas ?
     
  23. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93

    Early firmware 510s had a different firmware the only way to mod it was via a service disc, then the usual service codes. This affected the first production run (March-may `05) so if you have bought this as brand new from a sony authorised dealer, theres no way its old firmware.

    if you`ve bought it as a special (i.e ex display) then its most likely b grade with the problem (many dealers simply returned stock as "faulty" rather then update the firmware themselves).

    Of if bought from a non-authoirsed dealer, then again, could be original old stock. If from a sony authorised dealer, simply contact them or your local SES for the update disc under warranty.
     
  24. skinboots

    skinboots
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Berlin
    Ratings:
    +0
    @samwem
    give www.dvdchips.co.uk a go; they list your player and will send you a remote, that will make your player multiregion. I've tried them myself and recommend them. It will cost you 22pounds, I think. E-mail them beforehand and maybe tell them your problem. They will help you.
    Regards
    Thomas
     
  25. bumper31

    bumper31
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Smoke
    Ratings:
    +52
  26. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Location location location
    Ratings:
    +93

    Makes no difference, the remote uses the exact same codes, in a macro. If it won`t respond to the codes in the first place, then you have an old firmware.

    No number of different remotes will manke ANY difference if the firmware has the commands locked out!
     
  27. LoeweLurver

    LoeweLurver
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys & girls.

    I know this thread is a little older now, but I just thought it best to reiterate for the newer RDR HXD710 & 910 DVD recorders that the PDA method works a treat.

    I have MR'd my personal HXD710 in the following way:

    .) Turned recorder on
    .) Tapped in the codes on my XDA 2s - 'Timer OK' displayed twice, once after each code
    .) I physically turned the recorder off
    .) Turned it back on
    .) Hey presto it played my R1 copy of Robot Chicken :)

    Excellent work people - you get a gold star

    LoeweLurver
     
  28. snotuk

    snotuk
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Co. Durham,North East
    Ratings:
    +5
    Try'd the Kameleon 4 one for all remote hack on my Sony RDR-HX510.
    Can confirm it works a treat.
    Thanks i am now region free.
     
  29. zippyijk

    zippyijk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do these hacks work for the HX720 model?
     
  30. AVAndy100

    AVAndy100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought the RDR-GX120. I don't have an OFA remote so I tried the other methods posted here.

    The PDA hack wouldn't work for me at all so I tried the PC method listed by MART100.

    This worked well but there were a couple of things to look out for:-

    1/ Make sure the GX120 remote is set to DVD1 under the System Menu.

    2/ When you copy and paste the codes to the remote.txt file make sure you don't have word wrap on. After you do the paste make sure there are no spaces in the lines of numbers.

    Once you've done this follow MART100's instructions and you'll have a Multi-region GX120.

    As posted elsewhere, you'll need to set the Video output to RGB so that R1 DVD's play in colour.

    Thanks to all who've posted on this listing. The information is invaluable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...