Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sony RDR-HX510 or LG RH7500?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Danrv, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Danrv

Danrv
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

I'm new to DVD recorders and am considering the Sony RDR-HX510 having
    read excellent reviews.I've also seen the LG RH7500 for around £250 (a little cheaper) with pretty much the same spec inc. reading double layer discs.
    Also I've read of some owners installing a 250gb HDD with no problems.
    Is the LG worth considering?
    I'd like a recorder with a HDD,good playback/recording,multi-region (though not essential). Not worried about Freeview tuner as a set-top box can be added.
    One thing though,I don't think the LG records RGB input.Would this be a problem when recording for instance VHS to DVD?

Any help would be appreciated
    Thanks Dan

2. pjskel

pjskel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +122
    Not if your VHS player has RGB out.
    Personally I'd spend the extra on the Sony - HQ+ recording level for better than DVD quality, although it'll eat into the HDD space like no-one's business.
    Sony have raised their game this year round, and it's a tough call between them and Panasonic, although JVC could be a bit of a spoiler when the MH300 comes next month. Think HXD910 minus the Freeview tuner - just analog instead. £369 from ASKDigital - over £100 cheaper than Sony's offering. Otherwise the same, save the HQ+ mode.

3. Danrv

Danrv
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the reply.
    I have 2 VCR's (Akai VS-A650 & Toshiba V852UK) both have Scart sockets.I'm not sure if they have RGB out.