1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony RDR HX 900 or PIONEER DVR 720H?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mimi88, Dec 28, 2004.

1. mimi88

mimi88

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

As a hardworking woman, I always come home late, so want to watch what has been recorded that evening without wasting time viewing the advertisments. I also want to watch DVD movies.

I am not very technical ;) so would like answer to the following questions :

1.When recording a movie and start watching it 20 minutes later on HDD, I want to skip (as fast as possible) the advertisments to watch the next part of the movie, how does that work in practice? (fast-forward, smart-skip,time-skip...?)

2.When recording from tv and watching the recording, I read that some people notice that the audio and the video with the sony are not synchronized. Does every sony-user has this problem? What about the Pioneer?

3.Is the TVguide compatible with sattelite-tv (as thats all I have)

4.Do they both come with progressive scan?

5.What is the IRblaster for sattelite-control for?

6.Can you connect a PC to the recorders?

7.How is the soundquality, I read that Sony only has Dolby sound?

8.What is a digital decoder and which product has it?

Thanks,

Mimi

2. JamesL

JamesL

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +20
    Every machine implements it slightly differently. But it is generally a very easy thing to achieve: press the 'Timeslip' button or equivalent and then use the normal navigation keys (play, pause, FF, RW etc) to watch as you wish.

You'll find that is almost cetrainly a problem with the broadcast and not the DVD recorder.

Whereabouts in the world are you? Only the North American version of each machine has a TV Guide.

No - the Pioneer 420 has no component output or progressive scan