1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony Rdr-gx7

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by ataribaby, Nov 20, 2004.

  1. ataribaby

    ataribaby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have just found there to be a problem with my dvd recorder,after recording material info write seems to take forever then ejects disc with a short bleep and a diagnostic message C13-00 I know that this means that the disc is dirty although they are not as they are brand new!! This problem happens intermittentley and it doesn't have a problem playing back "dirty discs" Will i have to fork out extortionate amounts of money to have this problem rectified? A disgruntled sony fan!!
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    It probably just doesn't like the brand of media your using. Try a different brand!
     
  3. Ozxplorer

    Ozxplorer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, I've had trouble with 4X +RW media (TDK, Verbatim, even Sony!!!)....Brand new discs, seems to format OK (some even fail to format) but then stops recording after a few minutes and displays that awful error message!

    Marketed as dual format recorder but I found it's more reliable with 2X -RW media, so what's the deal with that? Anyone know if there's firmware update to make it recognise and work with more media varieties (like PC DVD burners)???

    It absolutely surprises me that Sony branded media is having problems on a Sony recorder!!! What's up with that???
     
  4. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,212
    Sony DVDR media is currently made by TDK. I appreciate what your saying though: you would have thought they would have ensured compatibility before stamping their brand on it!
     
  5. turbohat

    turbohat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    C13:00 error is the diagnostic code I dreaded.

    My old and beloved Sony 735 player is in the tip now as it kept skipping after a layer change and giving that error even with brand new commercial DVDs.

    I was quoted £130 to have it fixed but begrdged spending that and bought a GX300 recorder instead
     
  6. Duster

    Duster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0

    I get the very same problem as you guys, my machine went back to Sony for a So Called "Fix", but it's still the same.
    Does anyone know of a cure for this problem? or is it just time to buy a new machine? (Non Sony Brand) :thumbsdow
     

Share This Page

Loading...