Question Sony performance and the Android issue

Discussion in 'Sony TVs Forum' started by AlanX, Mar 9, 2018.

  1. AlanX

    AlanX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
    Ratings:
    +142
    Many here have bemoaned the performance of the Android OS in Sony TVs. So here's my question ...
    If I'm using my TV as little more than a monitor - that is, audio processed externally through an AV Receiver, and with only occasional non-critical web activity direct to the TV - will I feel any impact of the poor performance of the OS?
    And if I'm using the TV to process one or other HDR standards, will that be impacted by Android's limitations?
    I can't work out whether it's a real concern for my particular circumstances. Thanks for any feedback.
     
  2. Bastille

    Bastille
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2017
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +254
    It really isn’t an issue if you don’t use it.

    I’m going to buy a Sony TV soon, I couldn’t care less about Android as I will control the TV via my receiver and Sky Q + Apple TV 4k, both of which are way better than any smart TV system out there.
     
  3. Norman

    Norman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,734
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Herne Bay
    Ratings:
    +592
    I found the biggest performance issue was caused by using the built-in tuner and YouView.
    Now that I use an external tuner (Freesat box) I find my XE93 Android Smart platform works ok.
     
  4. Russ_64

    Russ_64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    449
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +161
    Agree with all comments as I also use Sky Q and not built-in tuner. I also do not find the menus to be that slow compared to my other Sony TV.
     
  5. GadgetObsessed

    GadgetObsessed
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +1,144
    I use my Sony ZD9 as a monitor (Amazon and Netflix via other devices - broadcast TV via Sky Q) and Android doesn't cause any significant issues at all for me.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice