Sony or Samsung??

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by paul_bunce, Jan 5, 2007.

Tags:
  1. paul_bunce

paul_bunce
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been building up my home cinema for the last 6 months, I have a Denon AVR 1907 av amp Denon Dvd player (with HDMI upscaling), mission speakers and hopfully a PS3 in the future. My current display is a Sony 21" 4:3 crt tv (great picture but too small).
    I am after a 32" lcd tv with a budget of about 750 pounds. Im not to bothered about sound output as I have the av amp for that but Im after a good picture for 40% Freeview 40% dvd and 20% Ps3 when its finaly released.

I like the sony LE32s2010 and the Samsung LE32R74BDX but which one is best and is the sony worth the extra 150 pounds?

They both have simlar conections exept the Samsung has an optical out, wich seems to be a better conection to my av amp than just two rca's?

What should I go for? And should I wait for further price drops?

2. gd2

gd2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    £20 more and you could get a LE32N32BD!

3. paul_bunce

paul_bunce
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    is that a sony or samsung?

4. MikeKay1976

MikeKay1976
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,022
    The sony S series beats the Sammy R series hands down imo.

better image quality and FAR better sound quality (ok i know sound isnt important but......).

mind you the R series is a cheaper set as well (and is probably better compared with the Sony U series, of which from what i read the Sammy is the better panel but the sony has the better sound (the Sammy R series sound is woeful) - although i havent seen a Sony U series in the flesh).

perhaps a fairer comparison would be the Sammy N series (as suggested by someone else) verses the S series.

i havent seen/played with an N series however so cant help.