1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony NS305 Hack from Palm m500

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by ste1010, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. ste1010

    ste1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +13
    I know this will have probably already been covered in previous threads bu tas yet I haven't found a concise way of doing this.

    I have a Palm m500 and would like to try to make a Sony ns305 multi region.

    Could someone advise me in how to go about this

    eg what software do I need on the Palm, What codes do I need to enter and how do I get them on to the Palm, and then how do I transfer to the DVD player. Finally what are thie risks if any.

    Thanks

    Ste:confused:
     
  2. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
  3. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    but he's already got a palm so he can do it himself for nothing
     
  4. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    ah ok

    thought it looked fairly easy to do if you had a palm
     
  5. ste1010

    ste1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +13
    thanks for the advice.

    Will let you know how I get on.

    Thanks

    Ste
     
  6. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    does it have to be from cetain model palm or will it work using any model?
     
  7. ste1010

    ste1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +13
    Any Palm, as long as it has an IR port
     
  8. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    might have to ask my cousin if her's has an ir port
     
  9. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    yep it does have an ir port

    :D

    if i ask her to bring it down how do i connect it to my pc to load the omniremote program onto it? can this be done using the ir port ?
     
  10. ste1010

    ste1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +13
    Neilybeily,

    Yes it can be done with the IR port , providing your PC has IR. (I do this with my work PC and Palm) Normally though the Palm will have a USB/Serial cable or a Cradle to connect to the PC. Palm Desktop softeware is then required.

    I loaded OmniRemote yesterday and tested it. It now controls the TV and Video, but for some reason not sky.

    All I need to do now is wait for my DVD player which will hopefully arrive on Tues 18th from JL (cracking deal by the way, I saw your post on my other thread. I rang and they wouldn't give me my DVD player for nowt so its cost me 29 quid)

    Any way back to the hack issue.
    On Omni Remote I created 5 buttons and transferred them to my PC via memopad.

    I have seen on a website that to enter the codes you need ProntoEdit. I have loaded this, but it seems that you can enter the codes direct into note pad.

    I will just have to wait now.
     
  11. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    thanks for replying so soon

    i still haven't phoned JL to pay for the tv and to arrange delivery but i have been assured that i will get the sony 305 dvd player for free (they're out of stock til 3 march anyway)

    my laptop has an ir port so i'll look out for your post saying it was successful :D
     
  12. rhoamish

    rhoamish
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just managed to hack my Sony DVP NS900V, using my Philips Pronto remote control.

    I got the code here:

    http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdhacks.php?select=Sony DVP-NS900

    I am in no way an expert as far as these things are concerned, but it worked easily! I'm dead chuffed: I can watch my Nick Cave region 1 DVD now!
     
  13. ste1010

    ste1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +13
    Well,, I managed to get my Paml m500 working long enough to try the hack on my Sony 305. (Palm is not working fully and is very temperamental)

    The hack does work.

    Here is what I did.

    Load Omniremote software on Palm.

    Create new category called dvd hack (use drop down in top right corner)

    Create 5 buttons numbered 1 - 5.

    Select Advanced>Database>export.

    Check in Memo Pad on Palm. There should be an item:-
    Category - DVD Hack

    Synchonize the Palm with your PC and then open Palm Desktop.

    Select Memo Pad and open the DVD Hack item.

    On the right hand side of the screen you will see the five buttons with the default Hex codes below them.

    Cut and Paste the following codes in place of the default ones as below:-

    Button name-1
    0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 01AE
    Button name-2
    0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 01F6
    Button name-3
    0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 01F6
    Button name-4
    0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 01C6
    Button name-5
    0000 0068 0000 0015 0060 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 0018 0018 0018 0030 0018 0018 020E

    Resync the Palm again and check the new codes are there in memo pad.

    Remove Palm from Cradle (OMNIRemote wont open whilst in cradle)

    Open OMNIRemote and go to Advanced>Databases>Import Category.

    It should then say IR Codes imported :5. Select OK

    Then go to your DVD Player

    Remove Disc and put in standby with DVD Remote.

    Point Palm at DVD (I was obout 20" from the DVD with the palm).

    Tap the buttons twice in order i.e

    1 1 2 2 3 3 4 4 5 5

    The DVD player came on and SUCCESS flashed in the Display.

    Use the DVD remote to power the DVD off and then on.

    Hack done.

    Good Luck




    :smashin:
     
  14. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    excellent news

    i'll be doing the same when i get mine but i've decided to get a pronto

    have you tried playing a region 1 rce disc yet?

    neil
    :D
     
  15. neilybealy

    neilybealy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,539
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +55
    well i picked up my pronto from richersounds and my sony dvd player yesterday from JL

    had a play for 20 mins before i went out last night and was completely confused on how you programmed it but i managed to suss it out a little better this morning

    the hex codes from http://www.dvdrhelp.com/dvdhacks.php?dvdplayer=Sony+DVP-NS405&DVDselect= worked first time and now my player is multi region

    :D

    my girlfriend is also very impressed with the pronto which i am surprised at

    all in all, i'm happy

    i'll be even happer when i go get my yamaha rxv630rds tomorrow hopefully

    i got richersounds to write down the price on headed quotation paper so i can do barclaycard price promise and they said the amp had been reduced that day to £279.95

    :smashin:
     
  16. me705709

    me705709
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone comment on the following remote hack. I wonder if it works given there is so much chat about using the IR service codes instead?
    Thanks!

    http://www.dvdempire.co.uk/index.php?a=showhack&id=265

    SONY DVP-NS300, DVP-NS305, DVP-NS400D, DVP-NS700, DVP-S330, DVP-S335, DVP-S360, DVP-S336, DVP-S525D, DVP-S530D, DVP-S535D, DVP-S536D, DVP-S725D, DVP-S735D
    Multi-Region:

    Turn On the unit with the remote controller
    Wait until "no disc" appears in the unit's display
    Press Pause, 3, 1, 4, 1, 5, 9
    The word "CODE" should appear in the display
    Within five seconds, press the key that corresponds to the zone you want i.e. 0 for region free, 1 for region 1, 2 for region 2 and so on
    Again, within 5 seconds, press Pause and Power

    If the above fails to work then you may wish to try the following:
    Put the player into Standby mode
    Press 1 and Return on remote for region 1, 2 and Return for region 2, and so on. Use 0 and Return to return player to default region settings
    Press P-Mode and Return to play DVD's with the selected region, auto-switching is Off
    Press Audio and Return for auto-switching On
    Press Angle and Return for MacroVision On
    Press Subtitle and Return for MacroVision Off
     
  17. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    it's bogus. it can't be done with the remote that comes with the dvd player. the correct codes have been posted on this forum to do it with a £10 programmable remote, but not in this thread! you know if it's the correct code if it says "SUCCESS" on the display after doing it.
     
  18. serg3

    serg3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i find this hard to believe cos ive tried the above method and it doesnt work... can someone please verify this because im sick and tired of do the steps over and over again...

    maybe someone who bought a song dvp-ns305 in australia can help?

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...