1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony models

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by stanleyntl, May 13, 2005.

  1. stanleyntl

    stanleyntl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Worthing, Sussex
    Ratings:
    +44
    Are the HX510/710/910 all the same except for hard drive size?
    Do they correct editting problems on earlier machines?
    What is their full res time capacity?
     
  2. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    The 910 is going to have a Digital Freeview tuner (and may also have HDMI). The 1010 will certainly have HDMI and upscaling.
     
  3. Drogo

    Drogo
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    English Riviera
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have the RDR-HX510 - and its a very good bit of kit .... Well worth the money and also has the HQ+ mode (15Mbps) better than DVD Qualityto Hard Disk Drive...
     
  4. GARYFORUMS

    GARYFORUMS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI

    Whats upscaling ?

    heard of HDMI - is the upscaling related to that ?

    thanks
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Upscaling is where the player increases the resolution of your DVDs to high definition levels (720/1080). If done properly it can make a stunning difference to your DVDs. Depending on the machine such upconverted material is only viewable through the HDMI connection.
     
  6. GARYFORUMS

    GARYFORUMS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks

    so the tv used would have to be very high res to cope as well
     
  7. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    It needs to be capable of accepting a high res signal if you want to use the upconverting feature. It doesn't actually HAVE to be high def although you are then upconverting only to downconvert inside the TV - a bit of a waste of effort!
     
  8. SOUNDSTYLE

    SOUNDSTYLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +34
    I'm keeping my eyes open for any threads on Sony's latest recorders and am looking forward to the first reviews of the 1010 when it comes on sale.
    Just wondering if the 1010 will allow me to add (or perhaps it will do it automatically) extra minutes to the end of a recording, and if a programme starts later than it should, will the time be adjusted automatically?

    Another problem I've been thinking about is how is it going to fit into my system I have the moment:
    Sky box
    VCR

    Will I disconnect the vcr and connect the sony recorder into it's place?

    The problem I have (well, I don't know if it is a problem yet. I won't know until I get the recorder) is that I have only one RGB scart connection on the back of my tv, so I have a scart switching box which has the sky box and my dvd player connected to it.
    To get RGB picture from the Sony 1010 freeview box (but what about recording? Does it record the RGB signal) I can connect it to the scart switching box aswell.
    Will it be as simple as that?

    Perhaps I'm thinking too much into it and it will simple in the end.
     
  9. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    I'm hoping for the same. The EPG recording on the GXD500 is too unreliable (for missing the start/ends) at present - it needs a buffer time.

    You are and it is :) A simple connection such as:

    Sky TV Out >>>> Input on the 1010 and the Output >>> TV RGB In
    Sky VCR Out >>> VCR in/out

    ...will work fine.
     
  10. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    The 910 is now out in France. However NO HDMI and without a digital tuner.
    (France still has only limited DTT coverage).
    In spite of this the magazine "Telesatellite" gives it a glowing review.

    Le Sony RDR-HX910*:
    Un DVDScope bien né*!

    The other point I've picked up is that the iLink is in only.
    What's interesting is that the Sony Dealer price is given as 990 Euros which I reckon is aroung £675, so it'll be interesting to see the price of the UK model,
    whcih will hopefully have HDMI as well as digital tuner?
     
  11. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    ...as is standard on most DVD recorders. Only Pioneer tend to have in/out iLink sockets.

    The UK is getting a dedicated version. Not sure if it will have HDMI (the 1010 will) but it will certainly have a DVB tuner.

    Details on the RDR-GXD910

    Details on the RDR-GXD1010
     
  12. ihcl03980

    ihcl03980
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    i was thinking of buying the new sony HX510. however i get a really bad reception where i live. if i waited for the upcoming model with built in freeview, does that mean i would be able to record different digital chanels whilst i am on holiday. at present i have telewest cable, and can only use one digital chanel to record whilst i am away, the rest are recorded through the tv and are of really bad quality.

    thanks
    /bob
     
  13. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,217
    Yes - you can set the Timer to record from multiple Freeview channels.
     
  14. ihcl03980

    ihcl03980
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    great, thanks for that. i don't have a DVD yet. i was going to buy one today but it makes sense to hold out for the new ones with freeview i think.

    /bob
     
  15. skyscaper

    skyscaper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, a ridiculous limitation - I nearly asked for my analogue box to be returned when I discovered this! :mad:
     
  16. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    Intersting to see the price difference. If the 910 doesn't have HDMI do we think that £300 more is worth it for the HDMI and the larger disc (400 instead of 250)?
    IMHO it seems a large price difference just for a connection and a larger (by 150) HD.
    Surely these two things shouldn't add £300. :rolleyes:
     
  17. SOUNDSTYLE

    SOUNDSTYLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +34
    Didn't think they would be that expensive.
    If I'm going for one it will be the 910. More than enough space for my recordings.
     
  18. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,768
    These upcoming Sony models look very interesting indeed :)
    The descriptions on AV-Land say that the 1010 will work with dual layer DVDs but the 910 doesn't, is this correct do we know ?
     
  19. simonali

    simonali
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't understand why everyone is discussing the 910's lack of HDMI connection when, according to the details supplied, it DOES have it. The 710 on the same site doesn't, though. Mind you, if you look at the socketry on the AVLand site, they've all got component inputs!
     
  20. simonali

    simonali
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    It states Dual layer DVD+R recording for the 910. Am I looking at the same site as everyone else? :confused:
     
  21. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,460
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,768
    You are correct it does say that, I missed that bit. What I was looking at was this bit :-
    "Records on DVD-RW, DVD-R, DVD+R DVD+RW Blank Media" it doesn't mention DL there but it does on the 1010 !
     
  22. rogerh

    rogerh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Maidstone
    Ratings:
    +10
    According to the review I've read on the French released 910 there is no HDMI, but as we know the UK model will have digital tuner and so lets keep our fingers crossed that it has HDMI to go with it.

    And back to my earlier point, if the £300 price difference is just for an increase in HD size of 150, can Sony really justify it?
    Lets hope someone at Sony has a look at the market and gets more realistic on the charge for increased size HD! :smashin:
     
  23. SOUNDSTYLE

    SOUNDSTYLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +34
    Thinking about it some more, the price of these machines are rediculous.
    I was thinking they would be less than £500
    I'm going to wait for them to come down in price, or perhaps look at a different make when they come out.
     
  24. SOUNDSTYLE

    SOUNDSTYLE
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +34
    Any other manufacturers bringing out similar machines in the near future?
     
  25. jrecampbell

    jrecampbell
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do we expect that the upscaling circuitry would be able to upscale the live Freeview signal too or just DVD playback?

    It would be great if it could act as a pseudo-standalone scaler for both sources.
     
  26. Ozxplorer

    Ozxplorer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it has the "Divide Title" function according to the manual (see other thread). It seems like such a basic function (to be missing), what were they thinking???

    I'm terribly disappointed with $ony, pity us early HX900 owners who bought into that scam of a machine.... :mad:
     
  27. beijingbear

    beijingbear
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Does the 910 or the 1010 DVR upscale video like Sky pumped into it as well as the DVD source when viewed over HDMI? Wasn't sure whether the 720 or 1080 output is just for DVD material or whether anything fed into AV1 or so can be output at pseudo HD over the HDMI?

    Sony helpline, gave up after bieng on hold for ages.

    Any pointers would be welcome.

    910/1010 on ebay.co.uk with Freeview and HDMI.

    Thanks

    Paul
     
  28. theo cupier

    theo cupier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +113
    Do any of the Sony models have Guideplus and an IR/RF device to control an external Sky / Freeview tuner?

    If not, how do you handle timer programming of an external tuner?
     
  29. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    Well, the HXD710/910/1010 all have Freeview in-built, the latter 2 having HDMI and upscaling features.
    The GX310 also has Freeview in-built, but is disc only, no HDD. Those above most certainly come with an IR blaster to site in front of the STB's IR window, not sure about HX510 and GX210/310. My guess is they don't, to keep costs down.
     
  30. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    The 1010 is an RDR-GXD1010 (lacks the 'D') which means it has no Freeview built in. There isn't Digital version available either!

    There are digital AND analogue variants of the 710 & 910 models - again versions without the 'D' indicate no Freeview built in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...