Sony Line Out Query...

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by kelvin, Oct 28, 2003.

  1. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Does anyone know how to make the pre outs on Sony TV's permanently active?

    My Aunt has just bought a new 28" Sony and DAV ( :rolleyes: ) and the intention was to run all sound via the latter. Everything is connected up fine, but it seems that the only way to enable the line out on the TV, and thus send a signal to the DAV, is to enter the menu and disable the TV speakers each time. Switching the TV off and on again reverts to the default setting of "on" :(

    Had a quick flick about in the Service Menu but couldn't see any way of permanently disabling them in there - anyone else encountered this problem?

    Seems like a bit of a cock up on Sony's part to me...

    K.
     
  2. Rolo Tomasi

    Rolo Tomasi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you sure that the line outs only work when the speakers are disabled?

    With my Sony tv, there is no way of 'disabling' the speakers and the line outs are active all the time. If I don't want to hear the sound through the tv speakers, I just turn the tv volume to zero but NOT mute or else a logo appears on the screen. When turned off and on the volume level will not change unless you change it.
     
  3. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    This a well know problem, the only way round it is to ignore the line out phonos, and take your audio from a scart. Depending on model this is usually scart3 and there are menu options to set the output.
     
  4. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Positive - set the DAV up to the right input and you get nothing, enter the menu for the TV and set the "TV Speakers" setting under the "Detailed Setup" section of the sound menu to "off" (What a mouthful :p) and voila! :(

    I had thought of that, but it involves disabling an otherwise useful scart, and it seems like a messy way of doing it - just wondered if there was a "cure".

    Never mind!

    K.
     
  5. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    It won't waste a scart if you get a 'piggy-back' type adaptor. This has a scart socket on top. Maplins used to stock them.
     
  6. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its a WN53H Scart Thru Adaptor @12.99. Theres no way round the speaker off situation, this way works fine.
     
  7. kelvin

    kelvin
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Down South... (Bournemouth)
    Ratings:
    +45
    Oh well... it'll do I suppose :) Thanks for all the replies... :smashin:

    K.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice