1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KZ32TS1

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MarkHudds, Mar 31, 2003.

  1. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'd love to hear from anyone who owns this plasma! :smashin:

    (I know its a bit of a long shot as this is a Pioneer/Panny/Hitachi forum ;) )
     
  2. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Me too Mark! I've been looking for info on this model as it's a better fit for my room than a bigger screen. However, someone whose opinions I respect tells me its black levels are not very good. Also it's being discontinued and replaced by the KE-32TS2, which looks identical.
     
  3. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Bernard,

    I've just found out about the replacement too!

    Apparently the TS2 will have 30% better brightness and a 1000:1 contrast ratio, which will certainly solve the black level problem.

    Sony UK also inform me that there's an extra RGB enabled scart input too and is available mid-April.

    I think these improvements and the same fantastic styling should make it the 'all-in-one' plasma TV to beat in 2003 (certainly if you don't want side speakers!)

    Only thing still concerning me is the PC signal compatibility ... will have to try that when I view a demo unit this month hopefully.

    Keep me updated if you hear anything further!
     
  4. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks Mark. That sounds promising as far as quality is concerned. Unfortunately I understand Sony estimates of product availability are always over-optimistic. I'll let you know as and when I hear anything and would be grateful if you'd do the same!
     
  5. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  6. mrv

    mrv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see that unbeatable have the KE32TS2 at £3000 and claim it has 3 scarts. Is this different from the KZ32TS2 (which appears to have 2 scarts) or have they got it wrong? It looks the same.

    Both the KZ and KE come up under searches in Google
     
  7. Dave777

    Dave777
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gatwick
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sony's website shows nothing about it of course! I've seen this TS2 in the USA (see my other post) but they don't use scarts so that doesn't help. Any one found any more details?

    Cheers

    Dave
     
  8. moeman

    moeman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you checked the prices on Robert Whyte seem a bit cheaper, but dont forget the £80 delivery!
     
  9. mrv

    mrv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portsmouth, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just spoke to the Sony Centre - the new models are KE32TS2 and KE42TS2 with list prices of £3399.99 and £4399.99.

    Contacted Robert Whyte's who show the new model as the KZ32TS2 and KZ42TS2 (prices £2549.99 and £3299.99 - £80 delivery). They have confirmed that model number is wrong on their website. It should be KE... and not KZ...

    So anybody - be interested to know if this new model is any good.
     
  10. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Do Whyte's prices include VAT? If so they seem extraordinarily good value...
     
  11. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Price does include VAT ... had £2549.99 confirmed for the KE32TS2 :smashin:

    Delivery is 3-4 weeks and £80 :thumbsdow:

    Now if I could be sure it'll handle my PC ok ... mmm ...
     
  12. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    I saw the KE32TS2 on display in Selfridges Oxford Street this morning - they had the 42-incher too. It looked very nice. The picture was pretty good too even though it only had a fairly crappy Channel 4 feed - I looked at the same feed on the CRTs they had on display and the PQ was at least as good as those and in some cases better. I didn't have time to ask them to slip a DVD on to it. Promising I'd say, apart from the price they had it at - £3,500.
     
  13. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sounds good Bernard - if you go back to Demo a DVD, do you think you could get them to hook up a laptop to show the PC input and then report back?
     
  14. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Can't in the immediate future I'm afraid - I'm about to take a week off and as I live out of town I shan't be returning to Selfridges for a while. As a matter of fact I've ordered one from Uncle Eric, the famed guru of these forums, and if his suppliers keep their promises I'll have it within a couple a couple of weeks and will report back.
     
  15. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Any idea if this accepts prog scan input? Component inputs? VGA in?

    Certainly looks interesting...
     
  16. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Can't find full spec for UK. Saw the spec for the US model, which clearly includes component, but as you know inputs are different there. All Robert Whyte's site says is that there are "5 AV inputs", which could mean anything. But if it doesn't include component I'll be very surprised (and very disappointed!).
     
  17. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    AFAIK the 5 AV inputs include 2xRGB scarts.

    AV5 is the important one as this consists of 7 rca/phono plugs for component or pc input. The 7 plugs are used for RGBHVLR (red,green,blue,h sync, v sync, left audio and right audio).

    For component the RGB can be used as YUV.

    For computer use you need a VGA breakout lead to connect to RGBHV :lesson:

    I've just ordered one from Robert Whytes :D
     
  18. copster

    copster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'm new here but have been reading the posts about the KE-42TSE Sony Plasma with interest as i am very interested in one.

    Has anyone found them cheaper than £3139 (techtronics - inc free delivery!)

    Also does anyone know whether a universal fit wall bracket is compatible with this screen as the Sony one is a tad expensive (read rip-off!)

    cheers

    Copster
     
  19. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Techtronics prices are slightly better than Robert Whyte's and they include delivery ... HOWEVER I'd rather pay RW a bit extra than give my business to Techtronics.

    I'm aware of what you can and can't say about retailers on this forum so I'll leave it at that.
    ;)
     
  20. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Copster, I saw the 42-inch version playing in Selfridges too. It did NOT look very good, although it may be down to what it was being fed. Nevertheless I would beware of buying this sight unseen. Mark, when you get yours from Whytes could you let us know what you think? I'll do the same when I get mine from U.Eric.
     
  21. copster

    copster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bernard, Can you explain what didn't look good about it? I will be having a look at one this weekend - if i can track one down in the Bristol area!

    Lets hope it was a connections issue....
     
  22. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was happy with the picture from the KZ-32TS1 in the Leeds Sony Centre! I've got a Panasonic 50" with a quoted 3000:1 contrast ratio so that's my reference!

    With the improvements to the TS2 I should be more than happy!

    Major WAF too!
     
  23. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Copster - Everything was wrong about it! Focus, colour - you name it. I'm pretty sure it was down to feed/connections, but I'd still have a look first.
     
  24. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just saw the 42" TS1 in the Leicester Sony store and it looked pretty good - i can only assume that it came to the store well set up, because the CRT sets in there looked awful, so I doubt it was set up by the store.

    I only watched for a couple of minutes as a sales person was sat with a customer with Attack of the Clones playing, but i couldn't fault what I was seeing picture-wise
     
  25. SinisterRocket

    SinisterRocket
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  26. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Bernard or anyone else received their 32 yet?

    I'm still waiting for RW to get me one.

    From what I can gather it seems like most places are saying at least 2 week lead time from Sony.
     
  27. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    Still waiting Mark. I'm told it's imminent though. Will let you know when it's coming.
     
  28. SinisterRocket

    SinisterRocket
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark,

    Can you tell me what you would need to connect a PC to the screen, How much it would cost and what resolution would be available

    Cheers SR
     
  29. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'm tempted myself, JL will get them in soon. It certainly does everthing I want!!!

    here's the spec of the japanese version

    Reasons that I like the look of it -

    cinema drive mode (although not automatic) - should make a normal dvd player connected via RGB scart look like a progressive one, and should work with digital TV box when they are showing film sourced material.

    built in scart sockets mean wide screen switching will work

    PC input via RGBHV via phono plugs (or component input)
     
  30. MarkHudds

    MarkHudds
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    548
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    SR - Computer input on the KE32/42TS2 is still a big mystery - I've not really had a clear answer from anyone on this including Sony themselves.

    Physical socketery appears to be 5 phonos for RGBHV and 2 more for L/R stereo audio. On the assumption that you would want to connect a PC which has a standard 15pinD VGA socket for picture and a 3.5mm stereo jack for sound, you will need 2 leads -

    15pinD VGA to 5 phonos (wired for RGBHV)
    3.5mm jack to 2 phonos (for L/R)

    I believe you just select input AV5 on the TV to get the PC input.

    With regards to resolutions, your guess is as good as mine, although I did hear from Nexnix that they reckoned the older KZ32TS1 would go up to 1600x1200. Remember though that the native panel res of the 32" is 852 (horizontal) x 1024 (vertical). Running at 1600 horizontal would mean the set is scaling almost at double native.

    Will have to wait and see. Hope this helps

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...