Sony Kv36fs76

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by gw1mcd, Oct 27, 2002.

  1. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello. Thanks for reading. I am about to purchase a 36" TV ,an I have just about "Landed" on the Sony.There does not seem to be much info around on this model, even the Sony UK Site only refers to the previous model. Your views/experiences please. Thanks.
     
  2. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    Just to let you know I'll be getting mine delivered tomorrow.

    I used to have a FQ75 so I'll be doing some comparasons!!!

    I post here ASAP.

    Matt.
     
  3. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Thanks.Look forward to your observations. Alan.
     
  4. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still waiting for John lewis to pull their finger out and get some stock :-(
     
  5. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. Note your comments. I have located stock. unbeatable.co.uk have them ,£1571.49 ,delivered. Alan.
     
  6. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I returned my FQ75 and went elsewhere as JL told me they were waiting to clear stocks of FS70s first before taking any FS76 stock!

    Got mine from Unbeatable - v.prompt but City Link dropped stand, breaking box although no major harm done.

    What to say about the TV....Grrreat!

    Perfect geometry in ALL modes, inc. NTSC/Panoramic etc. Seems pin-sharp and alot more "real" images than the FQ75. No scrolling bars, focus seems great.

    A few niggles:
    * convergence seems a bit off (although seems to get better as set warms),
    * maybe a small (I mean tiny) purity prob. although I'll put it on the stand tomorrow and test again
    * RGB shift needs to be on MAX to center the image

    I'll check everything including above points tomorrow with Platinum DVD and let you know...but for now VERY happy.

    Let me know if you've any questions.

    Matt.
     
  7. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    One other good point - I don't hear any humming from the set either!

    M
     
  8. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Matt. Thanks for info. I have taken "Plunge" and ordered from "Unbeatable",delivery arranged for Friday. Lets see what happens. Regards ,Alan.
     
  9. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can I just say again; what a GREAT TV it is! :)

    Just watched Monsters Inc and calibrated with Platinum DVD and its AMAZING!

    No I don't work for Sony; I had many issues with the FQ75 but the FS76 is the best!

    Happy viewing.

    Matt.
     
  10. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Matt. Thanks for reply. You seem well "Chuffed" with the 76. I have just ordered one from "Unbeatable". Regards, Alan.
     
  11. devastator

    devastator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,561
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +49
    Matt. Platinum DVD straightforward to use?
     
  12. lightningvictim

    lightningvictim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stonehaven, Kincardineshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +11
    Matt

    Did you need to RGB shift yours MAX to the right?
    Also did you have to adjust your rotation to -2 also for a horizontal image?

    If so
    Why would ALL the FS76's be setup wrongly intentionally?

    You, Steveyoungmin and myself all with the same consistent adjustments.....or maybe it has something to do with Ultimate DVD Platinum?

    Cheers
    Les
     
  13. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah -10 RGB shift!

    I put my rotation at -1.

    I found the RGB shift when viewing a THX box on a DVD that went way off the left-hand side.

    Guess a calibration setting must be being set wrong from the factory.

    I need to getr an engineer to fix convergence adjustment as its a little out. Did you guys see this problem too? Looking at the Sony TV menu, I can see a red line just to the left of the text and a blue line to the right only slight though.

    I used the Platinum DVD to set brightness, contrast, sharpness, geometry, convergence only. V.easy to use.

    Matt.
     
  14. Stevenyoungmin

    Stevenyoungmin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I set my rotation to -2 but was unaware of the RGB setting until I just read it. I went back to the tele and have had to set mine to -10 to centre the image from my digital decoder. So perhaps you're right maybe they are all set wrong!

    Steven
     
  15. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    hi guys, just to let you know that my DX100 and my FQ80 had the same settings. Might not be a fault though.
     
  16. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Guys, what weight is the FS76? and who got theirs delivered by Citylink?
     
  17. lightningvictim

    lightningvictim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stonehaven, Kincardineshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +11
    TV plus packaging is 100Kg

    TV itself is around 90kg according to the manual and I can vouch that it is definitely NOT a one man job - packaging also barely fits through a normal door - the stratches on my outside doorframe bare testament to that - another DIY job before winter sets in!

    I picked mine up directly from Indigo-AV's warehouse in Stirling so can't help with the Citylink question

    Cheers
    Les
     
  18. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Thanks Les
     
  19. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah got mine delivered by Citylink...y?

    I sent my first one back due to convergence slightly out - awaiting second now. How is everyones FS76 convergence?

    Matt.
     
  20. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    BTW Citylink damaged my stand - with BIG hole in box - although stand parts were acceptable.

    Do you think that the convergence could have been caused by mis-handling the TV?

    Ta,
    Matt.
     
  21. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    Citylink here in Northern Ireland have told me after delivering 3 TVs that they will not bring anymore, that they are a courier not a freight company and the sets are too heavy!

    They also only seem to have big vans, not trucks. Bizarre.
     
  22. lightningvictim

    lightningvictim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stonehaven, Kincardineshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +11
    I had all the back seats out of my Renault Sceneic and it only just squeezed into that (heightwise) - the stand fitted down the side quite comfortably - if Citylink just have Escort vans then I would imagine they would struggle......

    Cheers
    Les
     
  23. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello. My KV36FS76 was delivered today by Citylink ,well sort of!!.It arrived with ONE driver ,no assistant. The greeting was ,"It took 3 of us to load at Depot,where are your helpers??. I am over 60 years of age and not able to lift such an item. The Driver just wanted to give me the Depot Tel. number to phone and arrange another delivery when I could have a couple of people to lift it.Phoned his Depot ,reply from Manager was , ," I cannot afford to put a assistant on van ,we are only a Parcel Delivery service ,not a Domestic Appliance Delivery Service". Result ,I had to struggle to assist driver to unload and place TV in Garage. Hope UNBEATABLE.CO.UK read this!!.
     
  24. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Unbeatable do state that you can ask for a 2 or more man delivery crew but it will take longer to deliver.

    Check the delivery tab on their web page. I'm not totally sure of the policy from the top of my head.

    Puurrrlease let me know how everyones convergence is? Thanks! :)

    Matt.
     
  25. astonbilla

    astonbilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +37
    gw1mcd thats uncanny as they made my OAP parents carry a Philips 9607 into my garage also. They seem to be the worst couriers around for this sort of thing. Has anyone tried Empire direct for purchases?
     
  26. Stevenyoungmin

    Stevenyoungmin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My KV36FS76 was delivered by citilink and there was only one bloke - so I was glad to be there to make sure that it was damaged as it came out of the van. The picture is superb!! There are no convergence problems on my set. Someone wanted to know how much it weighs - its 100kg!!!

    Steven
     
  27. bigfatlad

    bigfatlad
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Ive had my FS76 for a week now, and i love it. I got empiredirect to pricematch unbeatable, nice! The set was delivered by endeva, and the nice van men (2 blokes) were kind enough to carry the set upstairs for me ;) ..oh boy did they struggle!!!

    My new stand from sony germany has now arrived (see below) i think the fs76 with the design stand looks fantastic, my dream tv ..ahhhh hehe.

    happy viewing

    [​IMG]
     
  28. mh66639

    mh66639
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    After seeing all the online pics of the FS76's stand I was worried it would be nasty.

    ..but I can say I find it quite modern, stable and practical. Can get at least 3 items on it and each shelf has good spacing.

    I do think the German one also looks nice - probably more designer.

    My 2gbps,
    Matt.
     
  29. gw1mcd

    gw1mcd
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi .Just installed my KV36FS76 ,and "What a Cracker".The picture quality is second to none,and the Stand is well made and substantial,and sites my Sat ,DVD and Pioneer Amp perfectly ok. Thanks to all who responded to my original request for info and comments.Alan.:rolleyes:
     
  30. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't suppose anyone could measure the 36fs76 height inside the stand with all the sheves taken out, presuming it will stand without the shelves in.

    The previous Sony 36FS70 is 395mm and fits in amp, dvd, vcr, sky just!!!.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice