sony kv 29 72u

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by stormchaser, Nov 26, 2002.

  1. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi
    I have a sony kv29 tv out of warranty sadly ,but it recently started switching itself off intermittently and got progressively worse till now it wont switch on,is this the result of a loose wire/connection or a dry solder possibly? as occasionally if its moved or shaken it comes on picture good as well!. Or is likely to result in a hefty repair bill or scrapping altogether?
    cheers
     
  2. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    A very common fault on this range of sets is dodgy soldering, sometimes in the power supply sometimes in the line timebase.
     
  3. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi mate
    thnks for speedy reply!,.....is it easily fixed? could I do it ? or is it a repair job and is it likely to be expensive....so many questions lol,my apologies and once again thanks for your time and trouble
    cheers
     
  4. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you are reasonably adept with a soldering iron, and can recognise a dry joint, its not too difficult.
    However removing the circuit board to get at the solder side is tricky if you havent done it before.
    On balance its probably worth a visit by a good Sony service agent.
     
  5. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    me again

    If you do take a look yourself be careful when removing the rear cover as the speakers have to be disconnected before you pull the case too far back ( connector in lead)
     
  6. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi again
    tv back came off easily enough :p ,but do you have a diagram per chance ? showing the 2 bits mentioned in your first post?................................and blimey the dust in there and I thought I was meticulous in cleaning my gear!
    cheers again for all your help

    owe you a pint or two! :D
     
  7. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've got the manual for the 2572 in front of me, and from memory I think the 2972 layout is much the same.
    Looking from the rear the upright card on the left of the main horizontal card should be F2 which has some of the power supply.
    The D board is the left hand of the 2 main horizontal boards.
    The whole chassis is drawn back after releasing clips near the front of the board, it may be neccessary to disconnect cables to alow the chassis to be tipped and rotated. Examine solder side for dry joints which could be almost anywhere. If you want a service manual (on CD)try Mauritron.com
     
  8. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    does the fault you mention mean it would be in "standby" mode all the time and just wont come out of this state to full on ?
    mines is in standby most of the time with the a and b lights flashing :confused:
    ps are there any large capacitors lurking waiting to zap me lol
     
  9. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    There is a fault code which depends on the number of flashes of the leds, it should be x flashes pause, my guess would be 13. Let me know, and I'll look up the fault table.
     
  10. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi there
    would tomorrow be okay as kids are sleeping now,when i did get it going tonight the picture was fab as good as new if not better!,but its kinda in bits at mo ;)

    btw whilst looking for old manuals etc found an old sony betamax vcr sony super beta player sl p44r in cupboard lol
    thanks again for your sterling work
    cheers
     
  11. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    hi again,
    yes it is indeed 13 flashes of the (b) led ,should I have it put down ?
    thanks or all your kind help and assistance
     
  12. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    13 flashes indicates shutdown on voltage protection. This usually means a power supply problem, almost always caused by a dry joint on the main D board.
    If you are capable of identifying a dry joint and resoldering then its an easy repair, if your not sure, an experienced engineer should sort it for £40-50 (guesstimate).
     
  13. stormchaser

    stormchaser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    last and final word mate ,I've got a nad av receiver av 716, with a similar type problem,in that the display at front lights up but no sound comes out ?...possibly a similar type of problem?
    anyway many many thanks indeed for all your input and help
    cheers
     
  14. HowieC

    HowieC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't had much to do with audio kit in years, seem to remember problems being caused by relays, sometimes just there to mute output to avoid switch-on pop. Always worth looking for dry joints though.


    All the best.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice