1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KE-P37XS1 Service Menu

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by billnot, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. billnot

    billnot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Benitachell
    Ratings:
    +2
    Can anybody tell me how to get into the service menu of my lovely new KE-P37XS1? All I want to do is to correct what I peeceive as a slight overscan, something I've done many times before on other brands.

    The methods given at
    http://myweb.accessus.net/~090/sonypal.html#sony

    don't work for me - or at least I can't get them to work; maybe I'm doing something wrong.

    :lease: Thanks
     
  2. bowler900

    bowler900
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Downham Market, Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +7
    I asked this question some while ago, someone replied but I cant find that thread at the moment, I was not brave enough to try it as the person who supplied info was not 100% sure that it was correct, if you do manage to find out please post results as i to have a slight overscan.
     
  3. bowler900

    bowler900
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Downham Market, Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ok found the previous thered, here is what was posted as the thread reached 5 pages and most is not related to this subject.

    "(from memory) put into standby then press on remote: 5, volume up, analogue TV.
    TV starts up in Service Mode, press Menu button for service menu.
    You can also key in various codes, list available on internet.
    BE VERY VERY CAREFULL!!!!!"

    If you are brave enough to try this please post if you have any success.

    Thanks
     
  4. billnot

    billnot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Benitachell
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks, but I tried this and all that happened was that I landed up on channel five with the normal menu.

    There are various methods posted on the Internet and none of them seem to work for me. Either that, or I'm doing something wrong.

    Reading other forums, overscan seems to be a common problem with this model. It's almost as if it's deliberately set that way.
     
  5. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
  6. Cliff

    Cliff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Kent & overseas
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    Usual to have power disconnected and then connected when entering service modes and not standby
     
  7. billnot

    billnot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Benitachell
    Ratings:
    +2
    Noodle, I tried that one and it didn't work.
    Bowler900 - you were nearly right; you missed out the first key. I've found the right combination by trial and error being guided by other Sony service menu codes.

    The correct sequence is.

    Leave the TV in standby.
    Press info - 5 - volume up - analogue TV.

    This has just brought up my service menu, although I haven't played with it yet. I'll report back when I have.

    Thanks to everybody who helped.
     
  8. billnot

    billnot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Benitachell
    Ratings:
    +2
    Having had a good look at the service menu (and changed nothing) I realise that what I really need is s service (or adjustment) manual.

    Anybody know where I can find one (agoraquest didn't come up with anything)
     
  9. billnot

    billnot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Benitachell
    Ratings:
    +2
    Having searched the service menu high and low, I can find nothing even close to an overscan adjustment. Surely there must be one! The service menu seems mainly to deal with colour temperature, etc.

    My otherwise perfect TV overscans in 16:9 by 4% horizontally but 8% vertically according to the DVD Essentials disc. This is enough, for example, to cut off the bottom of the questions in "Who Wants to be a Millionaire".

    Can anybody supply me with a way of fixing this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...