1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KE-42TS2

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by nez0r, Dec 9, 2003.

  1. nez0r

    nez0r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was wondering if anyone owns this tv and could give me a fair review. I have read some reviews and it says that it has below average analog cable and broadcast tv picture. I was wondering if i used HD directv but watched a show that wasnt in HD if it would look like crap. Also what is the difference with 1024x768 and 1024x1024. this tv is 1024x1024. thanks in advance:p
     
  2. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have the 32-inch version which I chose purely on picture quality after seeing a large number of demos. I think it performs at least as well as any other plasma (which is not as well as the best CRT). However, it has an ALiS screen and you'll find polarised opinions on these forums - some swear by such screens, others at them. Also not many people here have Sony plasmas because they are integrated TVs (not popular with AV buffs) and relatively expensive. I find it great on DVD and acceptable on Freeview. I'll leave others to answer your technical questions.
     
  3. nez0r

    nez0r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the picture look close to a crt if you use dvi to watch regular non hdtv on this plasma.
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    No, cos it's alis technology, you cannot address the individual pixels so you cannot bypass the screen's processing. Also, this panel simply lacks the contrast to show CRT-like images. Sony buy this glass from Hiachi/Fujitsu who collaborate on design, build and plasma technology, but I doubt they share quite all their secrets with the competition, why would they?
     
  5. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm afraid this applies to all plasmas. If you want CRT quality, stick with CRT! (But of course getting a good one is a problem.)
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Not to mention fitting a good CRT through your front door! I'm sure it's one reason they don't make them any bigger. Contrast wise, there are much more 'contrasty' plasmas than the sony, but not necessarily with the other features you may like with this one. You could look at the PA20 panasonic, but personally I have a loathing of all the integrated tuner models. Analogue looks so bad on them anyway, and the remote contol on them is so clunky and awkward in operation, so many button presses, and toggle only controls. I cannot imagine having a plasma home cinema system without a universal remote, and these models make this a serious challenge.
     
  7. The Allmighty

    The Allmighty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MAW, sorry to appear stupid but can you not use a learning remote to operate the plasma. I also don't understand what you mean by so many button presses and toggle only controls.

    Do you mean it's not possible to simpy switch to av1 or av4 from the analogue picture easily and have to go through av1, then av2 etc to reach av4? Currently on my remote (an old Sony 2000) I've set it up so that one button takes me to av1, another direct to av2 etc. Surely it's possible to change the input on the panny tuner in such a fashion or am I missing something obvious?

    I ask because whilst I appreciate that analogue tuners aren't going to produce wonderful results on a plasma, I was thinking of getting one for a panasonic pw6 (the screen I'm currently contemplating purchasing).

    Ideally I simply want to run one wire to the plasma and this seems to me the only way I can achieve it. I understand that some a/v amps (such as the denon 3803) upconvert s-vid to component and I could then just run a component lead to the plasma. However, wouldn't I be losing some quality anyway as (certainly on my current tv) RGB appears far better than s-vid.

    Given that a number of posts I've read seem to indicate that routing rgb signals through the panasonic tuner doesn't degrade them substantially, wouldn't I get a better picture sending rgb from sky and dvd through the tuner to the plasma rather than sending s-vid to an amp and then converting it to component?

    I'd be grateful for your thoughts as this whole issue is confusing me and given where I live, there is no chance of seeing one set up in such a manner so that I might see for myself.

    Sorry if I've wandered a little off topic.
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I've pm'd you about remotes, but you are right up to a point, but who said you should use the denon to upconvert S-video? Sky RGB should be converted to component video with one of them things at the top of the page, and any decent DVD will be component, so don't convert up, you've already lost 1/2 the data! It's only for convenience with s-vhs recorders and the like you should use this feature. So one cable is the way to go, just use component switching, not upconversion.The conversion from RGB is virtually lossless.
     
  9. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    MAW - tried to PM you, but your mailbox is full...

    JJ
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Yeah, sorry. Try now!
     
  11. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Sorted ;)
     
  12. nez0r

    nez0r
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    if i were to use something like digital cable or directv with the dvi connection, but it wasnt hd would it be almost unwatchable or will it be a decent watchable picture. This is the main snag in my purchase of the tv is the fact that there are fewer HD shows than sd. Also what is the difference with 1024x768 and 1024x1024? thanks
     
  13. Koing

    Koing
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I unlike most of you AV hardcores do actually want integrated tv for ease of use and teletext (dad wants it).

    He doesn't wan to mess with different boards and such. He wants it to operate 'exactly' like a conventional tv and with teletext as normal. He wants a bunch of scarts and that is all. We have Sky, dvd no component on Sony 715 from years ago, vcr to watch old tapes of Khmer stuff, games console.

    Koing
     
  14. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    nezOr, your questions about 1024x1024 against 1024x768 have been doen to death, try a search for ALIS. There are 2 camps here. The professionals won't touch them, but they do seem to make fair TV's, like the Hitachi pd3000. I'd steer clear of DVI with alis, i't not really meant for that. it simply detects the screen as an XGA display, and the internal scaling takes over. It will not significantly improve your picture. The XGA hi res screens are a better bet for that kind of thing.

    Koing, there are many ways of managing your connections, making it easy. Try a PW6 with scart video board, just the way you'll buy it in UK, and get a Pioneer VSX301 amp and a surround speaker pack, the amp has 3 scarts on it, which it will switch for you, along with the sound source.
     
  15. Wildthing

    Wildthing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought this TV and am disappointed with the quality of picture when watching a Live football match. Has anyone got any thoughts on how to set it up to improve the picture. There is a lack of clear definition of figures and the ball. I have it currently connected to a Sky+ box. The Scart cable is not top quality, I shall change it soon, but wondered what the settings in the screen set-up could be. HELP!!
     
  16. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    That's not sony's fault, they all look like that with footy, it's the broadcast quality that's at fault. A scaler would help a bit, but not really with this screen, it's not designed to work with them, it has one inside already.

    A good scart can't do any harm of course, don't let the salesman run away with the idea though! £30 gets you as good as you need.
     
  17. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you've got Freeview try the footy on BBC or ITV with that (provided it's a UK game in widescreen). MUCH better!
     
  18. Wildthing

    Wildthing
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I will try the Scart first. I heard IXOS was a good make. Are you familiar with it?
     
  19. mugsy

    mugsy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    668
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +20
    Wildthing - try the settings I use for my KE32TS2...

    Contrast: 110
    Brightness: 0
    Colour: 0
    Sharpness: -4
    NR: OFF
    Dynamic Pict: Off
    Colour Tone: Normal
    Colour Correct: Off
    Gamma Correct: High

    Digibox contrast set to Low.

    ...I find football/sports look fine to my eyes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...