1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KE-32TS2E manual

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by User0, Jan 5, 2004.

  1. User0

    User0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why is it that Sony doesn't say anything about how to connect a so called "RGB device" in the back of their TV? All we get is a picture showing 5 cables with unknown connectors (BNC?) connecting a mysterious RGB "device" to 5 inputs. Absolutely no word of what that device might be, how to connect it and with what kind of cables or connectors! What's the big secret?

    PS I have managed to find out myself that I have to get either an intermidiate box or a SCART to 5xBNC (or even 5xRCA) cable and set both dvd and display to RGB mode for it to work but have NO IDEA what do these 5 do in comparison to a simple SCART to SCART RGB connection......
     
  2. Bernard Barnett

    Bernard Barnett
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    671
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +5
    From memory three of them are component input (3 x RCA/phono) so you can connect directly from a DVD player that outputs component.
     
  3. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    When AV5 is set to RGB in the menu, it will accept an RGBHV signal from a computer or other RGB source. The connectors are not BNC but RCA (phono type). To connect a computer to it you need a D to 5 RCA lead (or a D to 3 RCA lead, it will accept sync on green)

    With AV5 set to Component it will accept a YPbPr signal from a dvd player or HDTV source.
     
  4. User0

    User0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey that was quick!

    I just want to connect a Pioneer dvd recorder (DVR-3100). Is there any point into it (i.e. will I get a better picture)? At the moment I use RBG SCART to RGB SCART and get some "banding" artifacts on occasion while playing rented dvds... and what do all these P/B/R/Y etc mean and do? Any links?

    thanks a bunch!
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You might be able to connect this with RGB and sync on composite. How are you connecting with scart to scart on this screen? Your DVD has no component output, so RGB and sync is the best that can be managed. Scart to 4x BNC is available from QED or Lektropacks
     
  6. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    There isn't much difference in picture quality between using the scart sockets and component input if it's being fed standard definition interlaced video, and I don't know if the DVR-3100 has component outputs or not. Scart sockets 1 and 2 accept standard definition RGB. Make sure your using a decent scart cable, the pioneer is set to output RGB, and calibrate it with Digital Video Essensials - the default picture settings make the picture look hoorid. as a start, put it on movie mode (not live mode), reduce the contrast to about 130, Brightness between 0 and 10, Sharpness to minimum, Dynamic Pict Off, Colour Tone Normal, Colour Correct Off, Gamma Correct Mid.
     
  7. User0

    User0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, there's no mention in the manual of the DVD-3100 of anything 'component" and in the menus you can only switch between "video", "s video" and "RGB" so I guess if there's no noticable difference in pic quality I should leave the component inputs of the Sony alone. SCART to SCART is good enough in most respects and my settings are very close to the ones you mentioned cybersoga. Still... what about the rervice menus? Is there anything in there that might calibrate the Sony to be more "dvd friendly"? Just now I moved the dvd to another room where I connected it to a 14 year old CRT through RGB (it was a surprise it can output RGB!) and noticed what I suspected all along...the "banding" and artifacts weren't there any more. What else can I do? Is the service menu "too hot to handle" and best left to the specialists?
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Your problem is that the Sony plasma is not brilliant. Few are close to CRT standards, I'm afraid that sony are worse than many. Sorry to be so blunt, I refuse to sell them, many people ask, cos 'Sony are the best, aren't they?'. Set the DVD to RGB, make sure you are connecting to an RGB capable scart, and sheck the manual to see if you have to turn it on in a menu, like on the DVD. While you're at it make sure you have set the dvd to 16:9 90% of the homes I visit have not done this! No amount of 'expert' tweaking will make your plasma miraculously improve, with the problems you describe. Connecting with RGB to other terminals will not help, probably getting a dvd player with component will not help either. The service menu has little of any help in it for picture quality.
     
  9. User0

    User0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry to say that i've done all these adjustments since day 1. I am definitely not in the same category with the people you describe! There must be something else. A 14 year old CRT can't be better IN ANY department than a brand new tv plasma or otherwise. I checked using the exact same software and connection. And contrary to what you say this particular version (TS2 not TS1) has very good reputation if you go around the forums. I now know at least that switching to a component connection will not change anything.
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Sorry, no offence intended, but Sony plasma is not well regarded on any forums I know of.
     
  11. cybersoga

    cybersoga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +25
    Other things you can do - get a copy of Digital Video Essensials (PAL version if you have PAL discs) and display the overscan pattern, adjust the size of the picture so it displays more of it - quite a lot of the picture is cropped by default. Try H Size -28, V Size -15 to start with. Bare in mind that some dvd's the picture doesn't go all the way upto the edges like the test pattern. The centering/height might need adjusting too.

    The picture is improved with a progressive scan dvd player that has good film mode deinterlacing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...