• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Sony KDLV32A12U vs Panasonic TX32LXD500 - Which is the better package?

A P Murnaghan

Standard Member
I'm new to LCD and I'm looking for a high quality 32" LCD, HD ready TV. I have read lots of reviews, but views seem to vary on the quality of these sets.... is picture quality really that bad on the Sony? What makes the Panasonic "streets ahead"?

I been a Sony fan for years and have had truely great CRT TVs from them ... will I be really dissappointed with the KDLV32A12U? A couple of shops I have visited say the Panasonic is just better.

Any views would be welcome.

B

bigboy_lcd

After reading so many threads saying the Panny 500 is much better than the Sony V32, I have been a little put off buying the Sony. But I still have ordered the Sony V32 for £1300 because I couldn’t really find the Panasonic 500 anywhere for a good price.

I went to the TV section in JL to check out the talent yesterday again. The guy in the store rated the Panasonic higher, but said the Sony was up there too. I prefer the physical look of the Sony instead of the silver strip of the Pany 500 at the bottom, so I am sticking to it. They didn’t have a Panasonic in store to compare it with, but in two weeks times they will have the LX60. Looking at the LCDs, there didn’t seem any LCD that is much better than the Sony (maybe Loewe Individual). You can end up keep waiting forever for the next best LCD to come out, and when that is out, another one announces they have a better one coming out in a few weeks.

marchudman

Heres my Panny in my front room for you to compare.

Attachments

• Pict a.JPG
    Pict a.JPG
    23.5 KB · Views: 120
  • Pict b.JPG
    Pict b.JPG
    24.4 KB · Views: 89