1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KD32DX40 ----Ntsc playback through S-VHS connections?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by kaktai, Jan 23, 2003.

  1. kaktai

    kaktai
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings one and all
    Sony KD32DX40
    as per subject, can anyone confirm that NTSC is available when played through second scart (set at s-vhs), and/or the s-vhs connection(i.e Region 1 will play in full colour not b+w)
    many thanks
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Whats wrong with RGB

    Miles better than SVid
     
  3. kaktai

    kaktai
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    agreed MartinImber
    but have just this week purchased a 'Pioneer DCS303 "Home theatre in a box" Multiregion DVD AV System ... '
    which apart from being s-vhs or composite connection only is perfect for my needs in every other way.
    hence my need for clarification on s-vhs issue (have a fairly large
    collection of region 1 movies--collected when an-alba 103(first dvd) -connected through RGB was my set-up------RGB for S-VHS and Dolby Digital DTS etc through the 5.1 speaker set-up seemed a fair exchange! esp as the tv needed to be updated as well!)
     
  4. YellowCows

    YellowCows
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Kaktai,

    This topic has been covered many times before, but I'm happy to repeat.

    All Sony CRT's sold in the UK presently cannot receive NTSC signals through S-video (whether thru Scart or side/front inputs), in their 'virgin' state from the factory. What you need to do is tinker with the 'Auto Y/C on NTSC' setting in the service menu.

    BTW 'Y/C' is short for Y (symbol for Luma, or brightness) and C (Chroma, or colour), which are the components for an S-video connection (often mistakenly referred to as S-VHS, but in fact the correct name of the connection is S-Video). Hence 'Y/C' is a tech term for 'S-Video'.

    As for how to change that, in case you don't already know, here's a link (to more links...sorry I'm so lazy - but you'll get there in the end):

    Click Me!

    Setting the NTSC to 'On' for the S-video connections will mean you'll get auto signal switching, and can use those connections with your multiregion machine.

    Cheers

    Moory:)
     
  5. kaktai

    kaktai
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    YellowCows aka Moory
    many thanks for your help/links etc...don't know if I have
    the confidence to muck around with the service menu, but I do
    like the look of the sony! and at least I know how it 'works'
    thanks again
    P.S.if anybody knows where I can purchase a sony with this 'hack'
    already done please leave a note
    thanks
     
  6. Gwyn

    Gwyn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Galway, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I think Sony have changed their policy on the KV32FX66. On mine, NTSC DVDs via S-video into AV3 worked out of the box without me needing to change anything!

    Haven't tried the 4-pin S-video socket on the side AV4, but I may be trying this soon unless I can find a way to select the output for AV1 or AV2. The standard menus only seem to have a selection for what is output on AV3, which is the one I'm using for DVD input, so I might have to move the DVD to AV4 for S-video, (since AV1 and AV2 input are RGB only). But then, I'd have to keep the side flap open all the time :(
     
  7. YellowCows

    YellowCows
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Gwyn -

    Is your DVD player TV system output set to 'Auto' or 'Multi' (in other words, outputting NTSC as NTSC), or is it set to 'PAL' or 'PAL60'.

    If the former is true, then you do have an NTSC-on S-Video -capable set. If it is the latter, then your player is outputting pseudo-PAL (or PAL60), which the S-Video inputs can deal with even when set to NTSC 'OFF'.

    I ask this because I have solid info (from a leading Sony dealer) that the policy hasn't changed, and I don't want people to get their hopes up. In fact - this issue is present on the very latest models as well, I'm told.

    There is only one way to tell for sure, if you're willing to help, Gwyn, and that is for you to check the entry on the Service menu yourself. You need the 'Special Adnustments' page, and the "Auto NTSC on Y/C" entries - if set to to 'ON', the set's ready to go, if 'Off' - not.

    Though I doubt Sony have wised up, I hope you're right.

    Cheers,

    Moory
     
  8. Gwyn

    Gwyn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Galway, Ireland.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will check, but I'm pretty sure my DVD player is not set to PAL60.

    I'll also double-check the service menu too, but I haven't changed it up to now......
     
  9. kaktai

    kaktai
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    got a Sony KD28DX40 in the end(32 was to big for room)
    anyway it appears to play ntsc straight off the bat :p
    (presume its not Pal60 as dvd player set to auto not pal)
    Thanks for all the advice
     
  10. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    Any idea when and why they started doing this?
     
  11. YellowCows

    YellowCows
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    figrin_dan,

    I'm too lazy to write it all out, so I'm copying a reply I posted last month on this 'policy', which began soon after the take-off of multi-region DVD players:

    Cheers,

    Moory
     
  12. figrin_dan

    figrin_dan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +135
    Cheers Moory,
    Just one more reason to avoid Sony, I guess.
     
  13. jac

    jac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    kaktai

    sorry to jump in but regarding the pioneer dcs-303 and your sony tv. if it has bbe sound turn in off aswell as the speakers as i found it spoils the surround sound performance from broadcast signals on my jvc. it may do so on your sony if it also has bbe sound.

    jac
     

Share This Page

Loading...