1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony KD28DX51 picture problem. Ideas?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by phoenix531, Nov 25, 2004.

1. phoenix531

phoenix531
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought one of these Sony' 28" IDTV's 2 weeks ago. From the start it had pink/purple cresent discolouration (2") at either side of the screen. Faint but very noticeable on white or very pale backgrounds.
    Sony say it shouldn't happen, Curry's engineer said it wasn't correct. New one was delivered this morning and it has the same problem.
    Do only Sony's suffer from this?
    I'm new to widescreen so am I looking at "the norm"?

Any advice much appreciated. :(

2. DRGL

DRGL
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Could try an external degauss coil or switch it off & on a few times from cold.It is caused by magnatism,is the TV near anything metal??

3. Phil_S

Phil_S

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a Panasonic iDTV that suffered badly from the same effect, possibly caused by insufficient shielding to the TV's own speakers. That wasn't the only problem with that particular set, so I got rid of it and got a Sony instead, which doesn't suffer from the problem at all.

So in answer to your question, I would say, "No, it's not just Sonys, and it's not all Sonys."

4. phoenix531

phoenix531
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies.
    DRGL - I have been through these things with Sony on the first TV. Moving it to middle of the room, Off / On a few times from cold etc.
    I haven't tried an external degauss coil (?) but I'm getting the feeling that I should return it and look at others. Trouble is it took months to choose ....!
    I have also emailed Sony with the issue this morning.