1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SONY IDTV Software Update Now!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by simon1, Jan 13, 2003.

  1. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    A member on another forum listed the following dates for new software downloads:

    13/01/2003 - 15/01/2003
    15/01/2003 - 16/01/2003
    27/01/2003 - 29/01/2003
    29/01/2003 - 31/01/2003

    There was no clarification as to which models would be done on what dates, nor was the original source of this information revealed.

    I can confirm I have been able to update from 1.03 to 1.04 on the Sony DX100 this morning and also my two friends' DX40's this afternoon.

    This is despite Sony informing some customers that no download was available.

    The new software provides a picture on the Parliament channel and also solves the intermitent 'Stereo' icon appearing on some of the new channels. It does not seem to have made any other changes or extended now/next info.

    In order to receive the update, you need to leave the set switched on to 'Digital BBC1' for 3 hours. After switching the set off, then back on, you should find the the 'version no' has changed in the 'detailed setup' option of the menus.

    I hope you will find this information useful and act on it quickly, as it may be some time before updates become available again from Sony.

    Simon
     
  2. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Still 2.10:( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(
     
  3. alim

    alim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Simon/Martin,

    Do I just need to leave the tv in standby after switching to BBC1 digital or do I need to leave it actually switched on?

    Will try tonight and let you know tomorrow if it worked.

    Thanks,

    Max.
     
  4. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Your television needs to be switched ON, and left ON for 3 hours with DIGITAL BBC1.
     
  5. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    13-15 DX40, DX100 v1.03 to 1.04
    15-16 DX20, DX30 v2.10 to v2.12
    29-31 DS60 v4.73 to v4.94

    Roll on Wednesday, my dad is waiting for 29th:(
     
  6. alim

    alim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Martin - Where did you get this info. from? The reason I ask is because I have a 36NX200 which isn't in your list. When viewing the HITS channel I keep getting the "Stereo" message flashing up.

    Thanks.
     
  7. calvin

    calvin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another question (or three) about these software updates ... I am considering buying a DX40 and was wondering whether I should expect the software to be up to date on a new set ? Do the suppliers have a means of updating the software other than tuning them in in the ware house !!??!? If I get one after the last update broadcast is there another way of getting an update ?



    Calvin.
     
  8. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    13-15 DX40, DX100 v1.03 to 1.04
    15-16 DX20, some DX30 v2.10 to v2.12
    27-29 DX30
    29-31 DS60 v4.73 to v4.94

    I phoned Sony!

    NX200 probably same as DX100

    As to next time I suppose the main UK IDTV company will broadcast again soon

    Failing that demand a Card with it on
     
  9. Boggy

    Boggy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    The NX200 is the same software as the DX100/40 and only this version brings up the parliment channel.
    I have a DX20 with V2.12 which came on a card from Sony
     
  10. alim

    alim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Martin/Boggy - Thanks for your replies and you are right about it being similar to the DX100. When I got home last night and switched on the tv it had been upgraded to version 1.04. Sony told me I might still get the Stereo sign flashing on some stations while the upgrades continue to be transmitted. I will see how it looks on the weekend and report back.

    By the way do I need to go through the auto-tuning again to get the parlianment channel?
     
  11. dac

    dac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +15
    damn!!

    i've missed the dates for my dx100 ... :( looks like i'll have to put up with the annoying flashing stereo a bit longer on sky sports news.

    i'll give it a go anyway ... no harm in trying.

    do i just leave it on bbc 1 digital for 3 hours?
    when i turn it "off" is it off from the set or will standby on the remote work?

    also, do i need to retune?

    finally ... does anyone know why sky sports news (channel 43) appears in smart mode? (i lose a bit from the top and bottom, and keep having to set it to wide.)

    cheers,
    dac

    p.s. simon1, thanks for convincing me on the remote and other stuff. it's wonderful having 1 sony remote controlling tv, dvd, amp, hifi (cd, md, tuner, amp).) and my friends loved it when they came over ... :)
     
  12. Vaughn

    Vaughn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Caught the update to 1.04 on my DX100 yesterday afternoon - thanks to you guys for alerting us!

    No more flashing Stereo and a picture on BBC Parliament... what more can a man ask for? :D
     
  13. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Mine didn't update - I'll try again tonight tomorrow I phone Sony
     
  14. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Shame you missed the update dac. I posted here to alert all other Sony owners as early as possible, given the fact it was only going to be available over the three days.

    I should have posted before Monday, but didn't want to waste anybodys time, since dates have been posted before and never amounted to anything.

    Glad you like the remote and stuff. I'm delighted with mine.

    You don't need to power off - standy will do.

    Hope you still manage to catch the update.
     
  15. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Can anyone confirm if their 'epg' looks any different now compared with before the update.

    I notice at the top of the epg display that the time is broken into 30min segments, ie 15:30, 16:00, 16:30, 17:00, etc. I don't remember seeing this before, although I rarely used the epg.

    There is still only the current and next programme listed, but I wondered if this may be Sony ensuring compatibility with the new 7 day listings that were promised by BBC/Freeview to launch soon.
     
  16. dac

    dac
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +15
    well it would appear that i have missed it! double damn!
    left my tele on last night for 4hrs.

    i re-checked what version i had ... and it's still v1.02.

    when did u guys get v1.03???

    should i call sony up and ask for the upgrade to v1.04?
    do i need my serial number?

    how do i update it manually?

    sorry for all the questions.

    any help would be much appreciated.

    cheers,
    dac
     
  17. davewadley

    davewadley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Enfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anybody noticed that the epg grid will display programme information at least up to 24 hours in the future providing there is data to display. On most channels the now and next programme followed by 'no event information' is the norm and pressing the right arrow will not advance the grid to the next time frame. However if I try it on channels such as the hits or tmf the grid will continue to advance in two hour blocks as long as programme info is displayed. Whether this is a result of the software download or whether I had just never noticed it before I don't know.

    Perhaps the grid is already suitable for a 7 day programme guide providing information is fed into it.
     
  18. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Is there an echo? :D

    You obviously posted, before reading my comment.

    Anyway, it looks like this might be the start to the 7 day guide.
     
  19. davewadley

    davewadley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Enfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Simon1

    I was responding to your post (or at least I thought I was:confused:) I think the 1/2 hour time bands were there prior to the download.My comment was about the fact that the grid could be moved much further into the future than I remember previously
     
  20. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Still 2.10 Sony fobbed me off:( :( :( :( :mad: :mad: :mad:

    I'll demand a card on Monday
     
  21. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    What you had said in your earlier post was more or less what I'd said, which was why I thought you hadn't read my comments.

    No offence;)

    I noticed the half hour bands went on and on over a whole day and night, providing you were looking at a channel like the Hits which had only basic information about what was on.

    I wish I could remember how it was prior to the new software.
     
  22. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    What exactly did Sony say, Martin?
     
  23. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    The updates are for rest of month

    However I was told previously 15-17 for DX20s

    So card will be ordered
     
  24. Vaughn

    Vaughn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the EPG already did this 'providing there is data to display'. I'm sure I remember seeing this before the upgrade on TMF or some other channel that just has huge block of time that don't really say much.

    I guess we're all waiting for the broadcasters to start sending data more than a couple of hours in advance!

    Apart from the dissapearence of the flashing stereo and a picture on the parliament channel, I haven't noticed any other changes.

    Vaughn
     
  25. dbarr9

    dbarr9
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if Sony are going to broadcast the updates for the 32NX100 again or do I have to ask them to send me a card ?

    regards

    David
     
  26. dbarr9

    dbarr9
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To answer my own question.......

    I just talked to Sony anf I'm told that the s/w for the 32nx100 will be re-broadcast during April. They don't know the date yet as the BBC has not scheduled it yet.
     
  27. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does a on-screen warning come up "DO NOT SWITCH OFF" during the updating?

    What happens if you switch the TV off whilst updating?

    If their is a power failure during updating, is this covered by warranty?
     
  28. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    2.13 on a card

    Now got Parliament
     
  29. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Martin

    I'm after 2.13 for my Kp-41, do you have the contact number for Sony.

    Thanks
     
  30. cosaw

    cosaw
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Stockport, Manchester
    Ratings:
    +19
    My epg doesn't look any different, bought the set before christmas, I think I remember having 1.03 but am sure I've also had 1.04 for some time before the dates listed above. Maybe I'm wrong.

    You should use the epg more often, I use it really often its good once you get into it.

    As far as I remember there's always been 30 min segs.

    Only current and next progs listed on most channels, some have more I can't remember if they did before. Just looked and channel 5 had 5 programmes in a row, I don't think I've seen that before.

    Over the last few days been having a few problems with the epg, just thought I'd post or have a look tonight and this is the thread I find. Periodically the epg becomes slow and unresponsive to a point where the picture disappears, goes to grey screen then black then picture back and epg up to normal speed. Got the KV32DX40, software download always set to on. According to the date list the download dates for my set were 13th-15th. What's my set playing at then, as I say I've already got v1.04. Hopefully the problem will clear up in a few days!!

    Anyone else had the same epg problem??

    Cosaw
     

Share This Page

Loading...