Sony HVL-F60M Flash Overheat Issue

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Dancook, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    Was just reading through this thread,

    HVL-F60M Flash Overheating = Unusable - Sony's Community Site

    Their top of the line flash by all accounts is unsuitable for professional use, it overheats pretty quickly under continuous usage.

    I'm just so surprised to have learned this.. in all my time of using the 600XT-RT I've never had them overheat.

    I'm a bit lost as what to do now .. I was hoping to marry the RX1R up with some wireless TTL flashes.
     
  2. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Look for some 56AMs?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  3. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,475
    Just fly out to Japan or Taiwan to get the v1.1 update :laugh:
     
  4. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    They did announce a F32M which is made for mirrorless, smaller, lighter - I might see how that reviews
     
  5. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    So you've gone from F60 to far less powerful F32 flashes, a bit odd.
     
  6. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    Well the F60 does not exist in my mind now :D they would not be fit for purpose.

    I've only glossed over the F32 as it's new
     
  7. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Like I said, 56AMs if you want power. No point in even considering the 32s if you want something powerful it only has a GN of 32.
     
  8. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    I see an issue with shooting "wirelessly" using Sony flashes. So far it seems like if you use a flash on the camera as a controller you cannot use it as a fill to complement your wireless key flash.

    Do you know anything about that?
     
  9. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Nope, my Sony days are long gone. Do you mean the built in flash or a larger flash via hotshoe?
     
  10. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,475
    Are you talking the pop up or another external flash mounted on the camera? Using the pop up as a controller I find that it does give out a little fill light, which at times I find very irritating if I'm just wanting a single light source :rolleyes:
     
  11. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    The built in flash on an RX1R will not wirelessly trigger an off-camera flash, so people recommend using an F20M to trigger than F60M.

    I have a strong feeling that the F20M will only act to trigger the F60M and not contribute controllable light to the subject.

    What happens with other combos of their line up, I don't know.. but it's a real headache :D
     
  12. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,475
    I think 32 will be too little. I used my F42 for a marathon the other day and was disappointed at the reach of the flash, so I'd be very disappointed at 32 I'd imagine. Then again, knowing me I'm probably expecting far too much from the equipment ;)
     
  13. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    May as well just use a wireless trigger if thats the case instead of another flash on the hotshoe. You bought back into Sony :p
     
  14. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,475
    That's strange, I wonder why the pop up won't act as a trigger on the RX1? I've always understood it that you can have the master on top of the camera operating slaves placed elsewhere, I'm going to have to check mine now :confused:
     
  15. snerkler

    snerkler
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,475
    I can't believe you're suggesting Sony are a bit backwards when it comes to cameras :laugh:
     
  16. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    Because Sony said so :)
     
  17. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    the minefield expands :D
     
  18. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
  19. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
  20. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
  21. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Why did Sony design that stupid new hotshoe again?
     
  22. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    The one shame is the PHOTTIX STRATO™ II MULTI will not sync above 1/250 :(

    also notes

    "The Sony HVL-F42AM Flash will work on the Strato Transmitter but not on the Strato Receiver as the HVL-F42AM has no Manual Mode only TTL mode."
     
  23. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Doesn't the RX1R have built in wireless flash? Im pretty sure it triggers all newer Sony flashes.
     
  24. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    it has a built in wireless flash function :D but that only allows you to add a flash to the top and use that - you cannot use the built-in flash to trigger wirelessly.
     
  25. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    PocketWizard III will do 1/500, seems its compatible with Sony MIL.
     
  26. Faldrax

    Faldrax
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Chandlers Ford
    Ratings:
    +514
    Because people complained about the old one, and getting compatible triggers.

    They also wanted to make it more than just a flash hotshoe - it is now a 'multi-interface' adaptor, so can be used for things like external microphones as well.

    On paper it's a nice design - but they need to bring out a range of high quality, reasonably priced, accessories to work with it - and that includes radio triggers.
     
  27. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Thats the thing with Sony sometimes though isn't it, half measures.
     
  28. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807
    If I used PocketWizard III or PHOTTIX STRATO™ II MULTI

    I don't understand how TTL is calculated, I assume the camera has no idea what the wireless transmitter is doing, so that means the wireless transmitter has to take control.

    Is the wireless transmitter able to send a preflash from the remote and use the camera to calculate the TTL?

    I assume I'd have to setup the settings on the flashes individually, unlike my Canon where I control it from a master. It'll fire using those settings, so I can set them both for TTL and adjust the FEC individually
     
  29. twist

    twist
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Messages:
    16,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,992
    Would be good if this worked, also, TTL is for pussies.

    YONGNUO – YN-622C-TX for Canon – Now Available! | FLASH HAVOC
     
  30. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,807

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice