SONY HTSS1100 or HTSF1100?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Paulmnj, May 2, 2007.

  1. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    How do u use these 'optional' functions. I cant see anything in the manual abt it.
    Also which connection would be best for PS3 - optical or coax?
     
  2. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    These 'optional' features are when using one of the different types of multi media docks that Sony are/will be selling.

    There is one for an ipod, a wifi one, and a bluetooth one.
     
  3. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +315
    Thanks for that!

    Any idea why it says under "Digital Inputs" - "The COAX in jack provides a better quality of LOUD sound"

    Why would it be any better than optical or is just a Sony'ism? I mean it then goes onto say use Blu-Ray with Optical, but isnt this inferior by its own admision?

    *confused*

    Mike
     
  4. Bashy

    Bashy
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    Picked my HTSF1100 up on Saturday from my local sony store.
    It's a nice piece of kit!!

    The speakers aren't actually connected by pre fitted terminals.
    They are just normal speaker cables supplied, so you can use your own quality speaker cables. The Sub woofer however has the speaker cable moulded into the unit, but can easily be extended.

    Not really gone into all the different settings a sound, but have my sky +, DVD, XBOX 360 and XBOX linked up nicely.

    I'd suggest you go and get one. It's great. :thumbsup:

    Cheers


    Bashyman
     
  5. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    How much, Bashyman?
     
  6. Bashy

    Bashy
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I actually only paid £290 as I have a great relationship with the manager there and have previously bought all my sony gear there (TV, DVD recorder, Wall mount).

    He matched cheapelectricals price, but I think the RRP in Sony is about £350.

    Cheers
     
  7. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    Any reviews available yet?
    Either magazine or online?
     
  8. KSK MAfio

    KSK MAfio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milan
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hello guys!

    Just got one!!!....It's my first surround system. Can you please tell me what's the best way to connect:

    360, PS3 and Sky HD? I’m going crazy :confused: :confused: :confused:

    Thanks!
     
  9. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does any of the 360, PS3 and SkyHD has coaxial? If none, you may want to get a optical/coaxial converter cos I think the HTSF1100 only has 2 digital and a coaxial. Connect your PS3 and SkyHD using HDMI and optical/coaxial to home cinema system, and then connect an hdmi between your home cinema and tele. Then connect your 360 using component to your tele and an optical/coaxial to your home cinema. That's how I would connect it.

    By the way, where did you orderyour system from? I pre-ordered 1 from play.com, was told available on the 21st May, I am still waiting for them to dispatch it now!!! :rolleyes: Can't wait...
     
  10. KSK MAfio

    KSK MAfio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milan
    Ratings:
    +6
    I think I will get an optical/coaxial converter to use with sky(thanks for the advice)! I have got a 1080P panel so I don't want to use the HDMI connection (only 1080I).

    I live in Milan and my GF works for sony ;)

    Ciao

    Mafio
     
  11. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Mine's due today :thumbsup:

    Ordered from Total Digital for only £265 + £10 del.
     
  12. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +315
    Thats a great price, let us know if its all ok..

    Thanks.
     
  13. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3

    I ordered mine from play.com and was due morethan a week ago but they say there is a problem with their supplier. I called totaldigital earlier today hoping to get from them instead. They told me they don't have in stock even though they said they have in their website. The expected delivary time is 2 weeks.

    Hope you gonna get yours today. I don't think is likely though.
     
  14. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Arrived all OK about an hour ago.

    I'd previously pre-ordered with www.cheapelectricals.co.uk for £290 delivered. Thankfully, it was straight forward to cancel.

    Will take me a while to set up. Nice looking system. I bought blind, not having seen it in the flesh in a shop first. It replaces my HT-SF800 (same as HT-SF1000, but didn't have HDMI) - also bought from Total Digital.

    First impressions are the speakers are smarter - the support poles are much slimmer and the bases are larger diameter. The speaker grilles are black plastic/metal, rather than the fabric used on my previous system.

    Speakers can be adjusted in height, inch by inch. You can decide how far they are 'slid' onto the support poles - nice touch.
     
  15. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    Got mine yesterday from Sony Centre Leeds. They had it on for £359 but gave me it for £299 (told them i had seen it at cheapelectricals for £290). Also got to optical cables for the price of one, so well chuffed with the deal.

    Set it up last night, but didnt get a chance to test it properly. Ran the auto cal n it sounded good.

    Before coming to work this morning, i played a dvd thru the PS3 to check it and it was only coming as 2ch DD, even tho the dvd was a 5.1 DD. Any ideas why this may be? (I checked the settings on the PS3 and it was set to optical out n 5.1DD so no probs from tht side).

    Any help would be good...but i will get home tonight n RTFM (thought i'd get tht in before someone else does).
     
  16. StuDawg

    StuDawg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello guys this is my first post!

    Ive just ordered the ht-ss1100 from play for £225 delivered.

    It says on the website expected 01/06/07 so will have to wait and see if it turns up this week or next week.

    Btw thanks to the guy who posted the manual for the system :thumbsup:

    Why are people having to connect optical cables as well as a HDMI cable should the HDMI not be doing sound and picture?

    StuDawg
     
  17. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    It would have been brilliant if this system accepted sound thru HDMI...but it doesnt so we r having to use optical.
     
  18. StuDawg

    StuDawg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    does anyone know if there is a digital coaxal cable included in the with the system, if not i had better order one off ebay its the only cable i havent got.

    Looks like i will need the coaxal to get the sound from my dvd player if the HDMI will not carry both sound and Picture.

    Whats included with the system?

    StuDawg
     
  19. KSK MAfio

    KSK MAfio
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Milan
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

    the coaxal is included + the cables for the speakers and the romote.

    Ciao

    Mafio
     
  20. cunnidc

    cunnidc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm interested in either one of these systems. I would need to connect my oldish DVD player by coaxial, and my Topfield 5800 by optical. I've checked the specs on the Sony site and I don't think I would have problems but can anyone confirm this? I would probably upgrade my DVD player soon with something that has HDMI.

    Daft question maybe, but why would you connect a DVD player to this unit via HDMI if you still need to connect via coax for the audio? What's the point of sending a video signal signal to an amp? Wouldn't you just connect via coax to the amp and via HDMI to the TV?
     
  21. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +315
    Hows the system working out for you?

    :)
     
  22. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +315
    Yeh, maybe its if you only have 1 HDMI on the TV because most of the newer sets have 2 or 3 HDMI connections on the TV so like you I fail to see any other reason why you would want to connect the HDMI to the surround system....
     
  23. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    The system has 2 HDMI in amd 1 HDMI out. It effectively adds another HDMI port to your tv. Also, if you don't have a all-in-one remote control, you don't have to use a different remote control to change between inputs.
     
  24. AaronW

    AaronW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    Why did they not allow sound through HDMI? :rolleyes:

    Anyone know of another system in the same price range that will allow this?
     
  25. leaky5

    leaky5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    BasVegas
    Ratings:
    +100
    Remember if you are using a Sky HD box, it does not pass 5.1 DD over the HDMI cable. So you would need to use an optical cable for DD any way.
     
  26. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just cancelled my order with play.com. The customer service cannot tell me when the stock will arrive. I re-ordered one from Hifi-bitz at £279.99 + £15 delivary. They promised me to reach me by Tuesday next week. Letz see...
     
  27. AJUK

    AJUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +105
    I think the only systems that'll alllow sound through hdmi will be true hd sound, which won't be cheap.
     
  28. Squareroot

    Squareroot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6

    Simon

    Could you let me know what the diameter of the speaker stands is? I'm trying to fit them into a tight alcove and this information would be very useful in determining whether I go for the HTSF or make do with the HTSS.

    Many thanks
     
  29. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Diameter of base is 30cm.
     
  30. NackNack

    NackNack
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,562
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +97
    Empire have it for just under £200, Amazon around £210. (re: HTSS1100)
     

Share This Page

Loading...