SONY HTSS1100 or HTSF1100?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Paulmnj, May 2, 2007.

  1. Paulmnj

    Paulmnj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +8
    Sony HTSS1100 or HTSF1100 - discuss?
     
  2. IT Troll

    IT Troll
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    67
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +365
    Isn't the only difference the speakers, wall-mount vs stand? I will be going for wall-mount as they are more discreet.
     
  3. Paulmnj

    Paulmnj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +8
    Not sure, big price difference if that's all it is - I read somewhere that the floor standing speakers have two cones? not sure if that makes them any better or whether there is anything else to jusftify the price difference. I'm sure somebody will know, although I don't think the full spec for the HTSF1100 is available yet. I've also noticed that the HTSF1100 has been described as either 700W or 1000W?? - time will tell I guess. Anyone know the release date of this system??
     
  4. nicksausage

    nicksausage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amazon have both of these models available to pre-order. Until recently the availability was down as 3 to 4 weeks, now it says 1 to 2 weeks so I ordered an SS1100 today. I've seen one site saying May 21st and another June 1st so who knows. The specs are now available on sony.co.uk but I can't see any difference from the old 1000 models, other than the colour.
     
  5. leggielane

    leggielane
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 1100 series now have a "Digital Media Port - for connectivity with your digital music devices"

    I've also read about Blue Tooth and I think WI FI connectivity via a forthcoming accessory. (don't hold me to the WI-FI bit) but I can't find reference to that now so maybe someone was dreaming.


    and ....(I'm pretty sure the 1000 series didn't have this.)

    "Portable Audio Enhancer"
    "Portable Audio Enhancer Music converted to MP3 loses quality. Portable Audio Enhancer compensates for this by boosting the audio frequencies to bring the sound back closer to the original source levels, ensuring better quality with Network WALKMAN™ devices and any other portable audio player."

    I've just changed my order for the 1100. At first I was put off by black but I'm going Sky HD soon and that box is black too. All I need to now is find a decent upscaling black DVD HD recorder. :thumbsup:
     
  6. Paulmnj

    Paulmnj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +8
    Just looked at/compared the HTSS1100 and HTSF1100 on the sony website, they appear to be exactly the same except for the floor standing speakers. So my question remains - is it worth paying the extra (over £100 if you buy thru' amazon) if all you get extra is floor standing speakers?
    (shame they didn't also make the stands all black!)
     
  7. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    Somebody please confirm it now accepts sound as well as video over HDMI. This is the only updated feature i am interested in and if it does do then i will be ordering asap.
    Need to connect it to PS3 for PCM via HDMI.
    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE someone!!!!
     
  8. nicksausage

    nicksausage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm fairly sure audio still isn't transferred via HDMI. The tech specs on the sony site state "LPCM (2CH/5.1CH/7.1CH) thru HDMI
    NO/NO/NO". I think this means no, although i'm too dim to say for sure.
     
  9. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    DAMN!!!
    I was hoping that this might have been one feature which Sony upgraded. Oh well...looks like i'll have to just sit tight n hope something comes out soon.
     
  10. Squareroot

    Squareroot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +6
    Would this system be suitable for connecting the following?

    Xbox 360

    Panasonic DVD DMR-E75

    Panasonic 42 PX60

    PACE Sky+ box


    I bought a Yamaha AV59 a few months ago, but it was too big to fit in my cabinet (so I ended up using the Yamaha in another room with a projector) and I’m looking for a slimmer model.

    This looks the right size, but I’m a bit thick when it comes to connections (well very thick actually) so any guidance would be very much appreciated.

    Thank you
     
  11. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can anyone confirm, in the Sony Style website, it says in the I/O section, that, It says Digital in/out is 0 and that Audio in/out is 3/0.

    Does this means that it doues not take digital in/coaxial? In the HTSF1000, there is 3 digital input. This can't be right, can it?
     
  12. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    Can you get full PCM 5.1 thru co-ax/optical on this system?
     
  13. stormy

    stormy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +304
    Are the manuals for these models on the net anywhere?

    Why does the spec say "Digital In/Out 0" and then "Opt. : including Front A/V 2/0" "Coax. 1/0"

    *confused* Why do Sony always write their spec sheets like a load of old tosh..... Surely it accepts digital input?

    I need to look at the manual me thinks...

    Cheers,

    Mike
     
  14. hessian

    hessian
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +16
    I would ignore the Digital In/Out label and just read the 2 x Coax & 1 x Opt inputs, no outputs.
     
  15. leaky5

    leaky5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    BasVegas
    Ratings:
    +100
    If it is basically the same as the SF/SS1000, then I would expect it to have 2 x Opt and 1 x Coax in.
     
  16. UHYVE

    UHYVE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone got a hold of one of these yet? I've currently got an old crappy Sony 5.1 system that had no digital inputs (I was a total n00b when I bought it so I had no idea about how stupid that is). Anyways, I was just wondering if anyone is completely certain that this doesn't accept audio over HDMI, because that would be very useful (I've got a PS3 and 360, while there is only one optical input according to an earlier post).

    ... I'm thinking I might wait until someone else has one before I place my order, I'm alittle bit of a pessimist when it comes to this sort of stuff now. I don't want to be surprised by it having no digital inputs or something, that would be just my luck.

    EDIT: Didn't notice the last post saying it might have 2 optical and 1 coax, if that is true then I will almost definately get one of these.
     
  17. leaky5

    leaky5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    BasVegas
    Ratings:
    +100
  18. AJUK

    AJUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +105
    This seems like a good system to me, i don't need much power, and i think it looks nice. I used to have a crappy sanyo all in one. The worst piece of kit i ever bought, i thought i was getting a bargin when i saw that it didn't have a box, or instructions so was half price ! Turns out i couldn't get it to output sound into the telly so i could only use it in surround sound. In the end i realised i had the wrong remote, so couldn't change half the settings. What a noob.

    So as soon as some one gets one please review it ! I don't know what the auto calibration would be like so that'll be interesting.
     
  19. leggielane

    leggielane
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tech Spec on Sony Site now updated and heres the bit I refered to above.

    IX (Wi-Fi) Optional

    Blue Tooth Optional

    Connect Optional

    iPod Optional

    http://www.sony.co.uk/view/ShowProd...chnicalSpecs&category=HCS+Cinema+Surround+Kit

    Clearly an upgrade to the functionality of the previous 1000 model range.

    Can't wait till release date at this month end!
     
  20. Junglist

    Junglist
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    In the heart of West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +91
    A noob question....

    If i connect my PS3 to this (using it as a HDMI switcher along with DVD recorder) will i still get 1080p from PS3? Just a little confused as the max output thru the system is stated as 1080i.
     
  21. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58

    I've just placed on order with www.cheapelectricals.co.uk for £290 (inc del). Doubt I'd get a better price (the High St price is £349.99). They've advised me stock is due in week commencing 28/05.
    It does have 2x optical + 1x co-ax digital inputs. The hdmi connections will be unused in my case, since it won't do 1080p from the ps3 (only 1080i), so I'll have to connect the ps3 directly to the tv for best poss pic.
     
  22. evxcmt

    evxcmt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I've placed an order at play.com at £309.99 with 2% Quidco cashback and an additional £10voucher. The expected release date is 21 May.
     
  23. Paulmnj

    Paulmnj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Braintree
    Ratings:
    +8
    I eventually decided to go for the HTSS1100 - £197 from amazon including free delivery, bought some nice black floor stands off ebay for a fiver - now just got to wait for delivery . . . . . . . . . . .:)
     
  24. jommy999

    jommy999
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    that what i think , that why id plug PS3 str8 to tv .
     
  25. natdeamer

    natdeamer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Watford, Hertordshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    My logitech z-680 speaker sub broke today.
    The front right speaker hums, ive changed the speaker, and the cable, so much be the sub.
    So, now im going to need some new speakers.

    Can i wall mount the HTS1100's? Will they come with any clips for doing this?

    Or should i get the newer logitech speakers, the z-5500's?

    I need at least 1 optical - for my PC, and 1 3.5mm to play my ipod.
     
  26. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    The HTSS1100's speakers have 'keyhole' slots at the rear, so you can hang them on the wall. They also have the facility to be used with Sony's own speaker brackets (WS-WV10D) for better positioning.
     
  27. nicksausage

    nicksausage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw the HTSS1100 in the Poole Sony Centre (rip off at £249 mind) last week so they coming.....
     
  28. Komodo

    Komodo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.
    Does anyone know how long the speaker cables are on these things? Is there a sort of average and how easy is it to get them extended if needs be?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  29. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Don't know how long the cables are, but they're straight forward to extend.

    The supplied cables come with terminals which can be removed easily and then attached to new cables if required.
     
  30. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Just released today:

    SONY HT-SS1100/HT-SF1100 User Manual here

    Looks good.
     

Share This Page

Loading...