Sony HS50 HDMI connection problem

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Dwayne Dibley, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +381
    I've had my HS50 for 2.5 years now and generally very happy with it.

    I've been using Component to hook up my Xbox 360 and have been very happy with it. I've also used all the other connections, just to try them out; S-Video, Composite, VGA with the exception of HDMI, as I've never had any such kit (or cabling).

    However, yesterday I plugged in a HDMI equipped DVD player but it's not getting a signal.

    Have I forgotten to set something, I don't think so, but I could be wrong. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I may be doing wrong?

    TIA
     
  2. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,183
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    First off, which DVD player is it?
     
  3. babaroga

    babaroga
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    and how long is hdmi cable ?
     
  4. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +381
    hello chaps

    it's a Tevion, and I tried it with a 1 metre and approx 4 metre cable.
     
  5. Dwayne Dibley

    Dwayne Dibley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Right Here, Right Now
    Ratings:
    +381
    panic over....

    just tried it with a Sony upscaling DVD player and the HDMI socket works just fine, albeit with the overscanning issue (which I knew about)....

    FYI

    ... I couldn't really notice any diff. between this image and that from my Xbox 360 Component signal... both running at 720p... the HDMI was running a little darker, but that was easily remedied...

    Anyway, thanks for now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...