Question sony hdv camcorder firewire out... laptop hdmi in?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by peter777, Jul 19, 2018.

  1. peter777

    peter777
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys...

    ...I got loads of mini-dv tapes, recorded with my Hdr–HC1 sony hdv camcorder... cant connect to my msi prestige laptop (g51-n1pr891-cb8) via I-link / firewired cable, cause it doesent have a firewire port …

    … here now my question:

    can I buy a firewire-hdmi-adaper cable instead ...

    (https://www.amazon.co.jp/MacLab-Thu...&qid=1532017822&sr=1-2&keywords=firewire+hdmi)

    ...and then upload my videos to my laptop from camcorders firewire port to my laptops hdmi port...!? … I also got usb 3.0 ports, a port called SS and a port with a capital 'D' (almost excactly the size of a firewire… just ALMOST... wont fit.... I tried -.-)… that's about it …

    I REALLY appreciate ANY help... :)

    thanks in advance!!!

    peter
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,599
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,543
    Welcome to the forum peter777 :hiya:

    It is almost a certain that the HDMI port on your laptop is an output only. HDMI inputs are very rare.
    SS port is 'Super Speed' USB3 and D port is 'Display Port' (also only an output)

    Capturing full quality miniDV/HDV footage requires a constant capture speed that USB (all versions) can't do. Therefore your only option is to not get the best quality and use USB via an adapter with compression and therefore some loss of quality.
    The only input that can now capture full quality from HDV or miniDV tapes is Thunderbolt, but this is rare on Windows laptops unless paying top dollar.

    Sorry it is not better news.

    Mark.
     
  3. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,658
    No.
    Firewire is totally incompatible with HDMI.
    The product linked is a con job and cannot possibly work.
    There is no way to connect firewire to HDMI.

    The only way to get your job done is with a full size desktop PC with a firewire expansion card added.
     
  4. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6,269
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,888
  5. peter777

    peter777
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi guys, thanks a bunch for all your comments... and sorry for replying so late... was away for the weekend... will check now your replies and will be back in a sec :) ...and thanks again!!!
     
  6. peter777

    peter777
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    back again... and again thanks :thumbsup:… I was astonished to hear the usb-advise... I was under the impression, that usb does not work AT ALL with firewire...!? concerning the windows 7 comment... that sounds terrible... moreover... sony stopped support for its dv-handycam-software from vista downwards...so I MUST get it for a windows 7 or higher -.- ...though I found this in wiki: ''Unibrain offers free FireWire networking drivers for Windows called ubCore,[70] which support Windows Vista and later versions.''... so even with an old vista laptop for a couple of bucks, I should be in the clear... I think that's best... will just buy an old one with an I-link port... *looking around … searching for nodding heads and approval...* :hiya:
    ps: yeah the thing with the desktop card... mmmhhh… no desktop... that would have worked well...thanks... and THANKS to all of you:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
     
  7. Terfyn

    Terfyn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,168
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    North Wales UK
    Ratings:
    +248
    One check you can make. Amazon show a small number of firewire adapters designed to fit into certain ports on a laptop. You could check if you have the appropriate ports on your laptop, if you have and decide to go that way, you may need to add some 1394 legacy software.

    Another option is to find somebody with a DVD recorder, some are fitted with firewire connectors, (Example Panasonic DMR-ES15EB) you could then record to a DVD (in SD) and transfer to your laptop.
     
  8. asik1

    asik1
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    israel
    Ratings:
    +1

Share This Page

Loading...