Sony HDRSR5 edit/watch in HD query

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by sunbjaney, Jan 13, 2008.

  1. sunbjaney

    sunbjaney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    HI

    Am thinking of buying a Sony HDR SR5. My last camcorder had tapes so I'm a bit out of touch with this. I have a 6 month old computer also connected to an HD ready TV. Can anyone tell me if I use this camcorder to record in HD how I am going to be able to watch it or transfer onto DVD's? I have no HD DVD player/recorder yet. Can I edit HD filming on my PC? I don't need to "see" the best quality now but want to future proof recording of my kids. Hope this makes sense.
     
  2. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    you will need software than handles hd [most does now]you can then capture your recordings to your computer via your usb lead,i am a hdv tape guy and make blue ray discs with them most people with your type of cam edits and burn 20 mins of recordings to dvd that is hd and play on ps3s or you can burn a full one hour standard dvd, someone who uses this format may help you more.
     
  3. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    That camcorder records in AVCHD
    The files are Hi def Mpeg4 H.264 which are 1080i ,
    They can be transferred by USB drag and drop

    You can play the files unchanged Provided your PC is capable ( it is tasking of hardware) and has the correct codec.
    To edit them requires software that is specifically stated to support AVCHD.Some which support HDV (Hi def on tape) dont support AVCHD as it is more "recent". This time last year there were no AVCHD editing capable software:)
    Currently
    Ulead VideoStudio 11 .5
    Sony Vegas Movie Studio 8 Platinum
    Pinnacle Studio 11 Plus
    UleadMoviefactory 6 plus
    Not too sure about Adobe Premier Elements 4
    and for the Mac imovie 08
    are able to Edit AVCHD
    AVCHD is generally not output back to AVCHD after editing.
    However this is possble in imovie 08 and lately seems possible with Sony Vegas 8 ( Pro) but only in a round about way. UleadVideoStudio 11.5 is said to output an AVCHD disc onto normal DVD.

    This is important because playback via camcorder is only possible if the edited files can be returned to camcorder, this does not seem possible

    So for playback, If you can do that via your PC ( if it can output hidef via its graphics card to your HDTV that will suffice.
    The other way is to use DVD media to make Data DVD discs some of which can be played back by say , the PS3 or converted to WMV-HD and playable by the Xbox 360
    There are media streamers capable of playing back AVCHD
    If you can stretch to it , the Sony SR7 and Canons HG10 are better performers although they all have the common AVCHD : Play Edit and playback conundrum

    You cannot generally make normal video DVDs with it which will playback in hi def as DVD players do not understand Hi def files anyway but you can use software to create Standard def files and use them to make DVDs playable in normal players


    I suggest you read this thread as many of those issues are discussed there
    Good Luck
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=681964
     
  4. sunbjaney

    sunbjaney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Thanks for that link. I need to go and rest my brain now!

    Not sure now if the Sony HDR SR5 is the best cam for me to buy. Either that or my kids are getting a PS3 next Xmas even though they say they don't want one!! On that note if I buy a PS3 in the US will it work here? (aside from needing a transformer adaptor). Will this play HD and Blue Ray or just HD files?

    :lease:
     
  5. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Sorry for the info overload. I was trying to give you the Pros and potential issues for the unwary without seeming to come across as negative

    Why not?
    The PS3 will work here shouldn't need a transformer( AFAIK) and can play both BluRay and files from any video source . Tape, HDD ,Flash card Std Def or Hi Def. It does not play WMV-HD but you wouldn't convert to that anyhow
     
  6. sunbjaney

    sunbjaney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the excellent replies - it all makes more sense now!:thumbsup:
     
  7. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    dont forget what ever you do your recordings have to go on home made dvd-r or +r dvd discs not reliable for long term storage as i have found with 2 discs losing data so far.
     
  8. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
  9. sunbjaney

    sunbjaney
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can data be stored on SD cards? If so is this more reliable?
     
  10. alpine101

    alpine101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +109
    What make and what drive did you write them with?
     
  11. redsox_mark

    redsox_mark
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bath, England
    Ratings:
    +620
    SD cards would be an expensive long term storage solution; and I'm not sure how reliable.
     
  12. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
  13. alpine101

    alpine101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +109
  14. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
  15. alpine101

    alpine101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +109
    What make?
     
  16. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    tdk pc world told me they were one of the best at the time.i am pretty sure senu and mark have said they have lost data from dvds.
     
  17. alpine101

    alpine101
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +109
    Yes, TDK should have been OK, though of course dye development has moved on a lot in 5 years!
     
  18. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    the trouble is when i started making dvds i put all the stuff i had on mini dv including all my vhs vhsc 8mm that i have on mini dv,that was 80 discs,since then i have put tapes to disc as i finish them but now only on blue ray any dvds i do is tele recordings etc.
     
  19. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    IMHO, ( humble being the operative word here) The key to relying on DVDs is
    to
    1)use reliable brands
    2)burn at respectable speeds
    3)dont try to fill them to data capacity
    4)make duplicates
    5) Store them well( avoid extremes of temp and moisture) and use carefully avoiding scratches
    and
    Make HDD copies if you can
    Some IT "purists" ( ?? snobs :suicide:) will add " use robust burning software":). they dont use the likes of Nero which rely on ASPI

    It is true that I have lost data despite the following but not lately.In the early days generic no name discs and "fakes" of known brands to be found in bargain basement shops were all over the place and you could allow false economy to allow you make a misjudgement.
    Many of them even failed during recording but some that didn't subsequently proved unreadable
    Things are much better now but if you've lost stuff before ( read the woes of dvd camcorders and non finalising:devil:) you will have a healthy scepticism about begin dependent on DVDs.

    The commercial variety are very robust though:rotfl:
     
  20. chrishull3

    chrishull3
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,019
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +282
    i used tdk as i said,most of my dvds were recorded on dvd recorders,i can not see filling a disc[not that all mine are]can affect durability if it can there is another nail in dvd coffin,why make duplicates when they are copies from dv tape,i store all my tapes and discs well,luckily burning software and hdd copies dont affect me as i fail to see why anyone with a hdv or avchd cam footage would want to watch it on dvd,but that is just my feal and i record any good tele wildlife on dvd.i think we agree on this cheers
     
  21. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    The reason for not filling is not to avoid using the stated limit, but to avoid going beyond that.
    Most discs give you a bit more than they state. it is using that extra space that may affect compatibility.. not longevity as such
    The info in my Post is a mix of personal experience ( and common knowledge if you like) and not from any scientific study and works for me and may for someone other person too
    And yes, TDK is fine I have many which work well but I suspect not all of them came from the same source

    There is a misconception sold to Joe Public when buying a Camcorder ( Even Hi def ), that they can just burn the footage to DVD and watch it .
    They never mention that DVD disc in the ordinary sense cannot play Hi def material
    As such Im no longer surprised that people ask why thier hi def material burnt on DVD looks so pooor:devil: compared with the original. They may be unaware that is isnt hi def anymore
     

Share This Page

Loading...